Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Z3100 Error code 01.01:10  (Read 8560 times)

canto

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 116
Z3100 Error code 01.01:10
« on: November 05, 2017, 02:05:07 pm »

Suddenly printer displays that error code on startup.
Saying to reboot or call HP.
I disconnected cable, no avail.
Printer has been completely revised/overhauled by HP in 2014 : new motherboard, new printing cart, new belt, new printing heads and even some other parts have been changed anew.
Is that printer particularly quirky ?
It has seen moderate usage and have always been on to let cleaning processus operate.
Logged

Mark Lindquist

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1594
  • itís not about the photos we take - itís the ones we leave
    • LINDQUIST STUDIOS
Re: Z3100 Error code 01.01:10
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2017, 02:31:31 pm »

Suddenly printer displays that error code on startup.
Saying to reboot or call HP.
I disconnected cable, no avail.
Printer has been completely revised/overhauled by HP in 2014 : new motherboard, new printing cart, new belt, new printing heads and even some other parts have been changed anew.
Is that printer particularly quirky ?
It has seen moderate usage and have always been on to let cleaning processus operate.

Please refer to the bottom of this page:

http://z3200.com/HP-Z3200_Printers-HOW-T0s.htm

Also, when you pull the formatter board to replace the battery (and I'll bet it wasn't replaced at the time the printer was overhauled), be sure to keep the unit unplugged for over an hour to allow capacitors, etc., to discharge and static charges to dissipate.  HP refers to this as resetting the printer. It has been my experience that the longer you wait, the better the chances of dissapation, hence more likelihood of success.

Unplug printer.
Push start switch to off position
Pull the formatter board (just two hand screws - you may need a small flathead screw driver) pull straight up.
Blow off the formatter board with some canned air or a bulb.
Replace the battery.
Be sure to wait minimally 1 hour before putting the board back in.

Test the wall outlet to be sure it is working correctly.
Plug the printer in.
Turn the printer on via the "on" button/switch.

The printer should eventually display a message "FSCK"  (file system check).

Allow the printer to initialize and it could take an hour or more.

If nothing happens, unplug again, pull the formatter board, lift the battery out, wait 5 seconds and put it back in then replace the board, make sure switch is set to off, then plug back in.

See if it will initialize.

If you don't see anything happening, then it's on to the next phase of trouble shooting.

Good luck.

Mark
Logged
Mark Lindquist
http://z3200.com, http://MarkLindquistPhotography.com
Lindquist Studios.com

canto

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 116
Re: Z3100 Error code 01.01:10
« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2017, 02:40:53 pm »

Thank you so much, Mark. :)
Will do.
« Last Edit: November 05, 2017, 03:02:20 pm by canto »
Logged

canto

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 116
Re: Z3100 Error code 01.01:10
« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2017, 01:16:43 pm »

Dear Mark,
I did all of the above (left board dismounted and Z3100 unplugged for all night).
Still error 01.0:10, directly.

To be clear, I did then the 5 seconds removing battery routine, and this time I thought I could take a victory lap :
it did the FSCK check (about 10 minutes to complete), then in the end, again, error 01.0:10.

What do you think ?
It's beyond me that a machine which has been so completely repaired by HP (including new formatter board complete with Hitachi HD)
should have again a problemÖ
« Last Edit: November 06, 2017, 01:37:52 pm by canto »
Logged

Mark Lindquist

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1594
  • itís not about the photos we take - itís the ones we leave
    • LINDQUIST STUDIOS
Re: Z3100 Error code 01.01:10
« Reply #4 on: November 06, 2017, 01:55:22 pm »

Sounds like an electrical problem.  Once it got through the FSCK, what happened?  Did the carriage go back and forth?  At what point did it throw the erroe message?

Try this:  Redo the remove baterry for five seconds routine and watch everything carefully.  Time how long it takes for FSCK.  Take phone photos of the messages on the console.  Make a log and letís see what goes, this time.  Oddly sometimes it takes 3-4 times.  Check to see the fan is running the whole time.

OK.  The more thorough you are documenting the steps the better the chances of troubleshooting.  When the carriage moves, note it.

Good luck.

Mark
Logged
Mark Lindquist
http://z3200.com, http://MarkLindquistPhotography.com
Lindquist Studios.com

canto

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 116
Re: Z3100 Error code 01.01:10
« Reply #5 on: November 06, 2017, 02:56:36 pm »

FSCK took about 10'.
Carriage moved once, a complete back and forth.
The error message came after FSCK was completed, and after startup procedure : HP logo, progress bar to 100 %, then the usual message : "Reinitializing mechanical parts",
with carriage moving back and forth.
After that, the Error message.
Could it be related to relative humidity ? I was away for 10 days and though the printer was on,
the heating in the basement went off. It has thick double plat windows but it's still a basement.

Now I redid the procedure, removing battery.
It did FSCK (8'), then progress bar with HP logo, then "Initializing". All the time, fan running.
Then fan stops, and Error 01/01:10 again.
No back and forth of carriage, which remains stuck on the right side, behind the cartridges compartment.
« Last Edit: November 06, 2017, 03:46:51 pm by canto »
Logged

Mark Lindquist

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1594
  • itís not about the photos we take - itís the ones we leave
    • LINDQUIST STUDIOS
Re: Z3100 Error code 01.01:10
« Reply #6 on: November 06, 2017, 03:51:44 pm »

OK.  I think you might try another routine at this point.

Unplug the printer. 
Turn switch to off.
Get two large ziplock freezer bags.
Being by removing the print heads - all of them. Re-close print head latch.
Put them in the bag and seal the bag and shake it vigorously, for several minutes.
Look at the contacts, etc., make sure everything is clean.  Clean with distilled water and lint-free cloth.
Next, remove ALL ink carts and put them in a large freezer bag and seal.  Shake vigorously, for several minutes.
Clean all contacts.  Check at the bottom of the ink head receptacles, wipe clean.

Do the remove battery for 5 seconds thing then plug-in and re-start.

The printer should get to a point where it asks you for the print heads.

Then it should get to the point where it asks you for the Ink carts.

See what happens.  Record everything in a log.

Try it, we'll see.  Be sure to make sure that your ink cartridges are at least 1/3 full.

You can check them from the front panel before you pull them.

Good luck,

Mark


Replug printer.  Turn switch on, watch the screen and what print head does.
Logged
Mark Lindquist
http://z3200.com, http://MarkLindquistPhotography.com
Lindquist Studios.com

canto

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 116
Re: Z3100 Error code 01.01:10
« Reply #7 on: November 06, 2017, 04:22:24 pm »

I don't have access to the front panel info, because of the Problem#1.
I just replaced 3 cartridges 2 weeks ago, and I remember all the others are at least 40 %, except Light Cyan and Red which are around 16 and 18%.
All heads receptacles and contacts are totally clean.
Carriage being stuck to the right, how can I reach the heads ?

Thank you,
Johan
« Last Edit: November 06, 2017, 05:13:02 pm by canto »
Logged

Mark Lindquist

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1594
  • itís not about the photos we take - itís the ones we leave
    • LINDQUIST STUDIOS
Re: Z3100 Error code 01.01:10
« Reply #8 on: November 06, 2017, 05:43:09 pm »

OK Johan,

Shutdown (uplug) and switch to off position.

Wait  5 minutes.

Plug back in and put witch to on.

Be prepared, when carriage reaches an open spot in the window, quickly unplug the cord.

Carriage will stop there and be able to be moved.

Good luck -

Mark


Logged
Mark Lindquist
http://z3200.com, http://MarkLindquistPhotography.com
Lindquist Studios.com

canto

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 116
Re: Z3100 Error code 01.01:10
« Reply #9 on: November 07, 2017, 12:38:00 am »

Dear Mark,
It's impossible to do that : carriage is not moving anymore when switched on.
Thank you,
Johan
Logged

canto

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 116
Re: Z3100 Error code 01.01:10
« Reply #10 on: November 07, 2017, 04:57:38 am »

Hi, Mark,
Called HP support. That error seems to point to Print Mech PCA card as first culprit.
Second culprit could be formatter (which has been changed in 2014 by HP with new HD).
Thank you
Logged

Mark Lindquist

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1594
  • itís not about the photos we take - itís the ones we leave
    • LINDQUIST STUDIOS
Re: Z3100 Error code 01.01:10
« Reply #11 on: November 07, 2017, 07:23:12 am »

Hi, Mark,
Called HP support. That error seems to point to Print Mech PCA card as first culprit.
Second culprit could be formatter (which has been changed in 2014 by HP with new HD).
Thank you

Johan,

I was tryying to eliminate the easiest, least invasive possibilities related to the formatter.  With the 01- error codes, these two go hand in hand.  You could try getting into the diagnostic menu (see repair manual to do that) and run some diagnostic tests.

Replacing the PCA Card is not difficult.  Itís on the right side of the printer.  You can see it on page 278, here: http://robogravure.com/hp-designjet-Z3200-service-manual.pdf

You could check to see if the cables are all seated correctly.

It does sound more likely that it is your formatter board, however.

I think you might want to have HP look at it, if they made the repairs, they should stand by them.

Best,

Mark

PS, if you want to move the carriage, there is a screw that is show in the manual next to the print mec board that can be unscrewed that will unlock the printhead.

If you do unscrew it, DO NOT retighten it.

Logged
Mark Lindquist
http://z3200.com, http://MarkLindquistPhotography.com
Lindquist Studios.com

canto

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 116
Re: Z3100 Error code 01.01:10
« Reply #12 on: November 07, 2017, 08:32:46 am »

Thank you,
I'll try to replace both.
Problem is I cannot seem to find a non-PS PCA card. Is it the same as the PCA for Z3100 PS ?
Besides, I cannot run diagnostics : I cannot access to the main menu, printer not booting.
Logged

Mark Lindquist

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1594
  • itís not about the photos we take - itís the ones we leave
    • LINDQUIST STUDIOS
Re: Z3100 Error code 01.01:10
« Reply #13 on: November 07, 2017, 09:07:46 am »

Go back to my first reply.  Start there before doing anything else.

Also, plug into an entirely different circuit (HP recommended)

Be sure you have formatter (and battery) properly seated.

Just wait a half hour - be sure the LAN cable is unplugged as well.

Restart with LAN or USB cable unplugged.

See if you can get it back to booting this way.

I don't recommend getting the ps card if yours is plain vanilla.

-M
Logged
Mark Lindquist
http://z3200.com, http://MarkLindquistPhotography.com
Lindquist Studios.com

canto

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 116
Re: Z3100 Error code 01.01:10
« Reply #14 on: November 07, 2017, 09:23:48 am »

Formatter and battery are really well seated, no doubt.
I retried the routine this morning, after all night unplugged : no way.
LAN was unplugged anyway.
I found new formatter and Card in Germany, brand new.
Mains plug is absolutely clean (large plug with protective flap on it)
I'll replace both and see.
Logged

Mark Lindquist

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1594
  • itís not about the photos we take - itís the ones we leave
    • LINDQUIST STUDIOS
Re: Z3100 Error code 01.01:10
« Reply #15 on: November 07, 2017, 10:12:52 am »

Formatter and battery are really well seated, no doubt.
I retried the routine this morning, after all night unplugged : no way.
LAN was unplugged anyway.
I found new formatter and Card in Germany, brand new.
Mains plug is absolutely clean (large plug with protective flap on it)
I'll replace both and see.

It's my understanding that the formatter card and the hard drive must be paired.
It's just what I was taught.  If I was doing this, I would get a paired hard drive and formatter board.

You could find out that the Print Mech Card is a problem and your formatter board is fine however.

Just my opinion, your mileage may vary.

M
Logged
Mark Lindquist
http://z3200.com, http://MarkLindquistPhotography.com
Lindquist Studios.com

canto

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 116
Re: Z3100 Error code 01.01:10
« Reply #16 on: November 07, 2017, 10:21:08 am »

Yes, the formatter I found new is delivered with its HD included, of course.
I could try first to change the Print Mech then the formatter.
Problem is HP doesn't support Z3100 anymore and it's a real pain to find a competent tech here.
Logged

Mark Lindquist

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1594
  • itís not about the photos we take - itís the ones we leave
    • LINDQUIST STUDIOS
Re: Z3100 Error code 01.01:10
« Reply #17 on: November 07, 2017, 11:35:41 am »

Understood.  Go for the formatter and see what happens first, is what I would do, then the PCA.

-M

BTW - Where are you located Johan?

Logged
Mark Lindquist
http://z3200.com, http://MarkLindquistPhotography.com
Lindquist Studios.com

canto

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 116
Re: Z3100 Error code 01.01:10
« Reply #18 on: November 07, 2017, 11:38:13 am »

According to HP, the error code points rather to the PCAÖ
At least they saidÖ
Logged

Mark Lindquist

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1594
  • itís not about the photos we take - itís the ones we leave
    • LINDQUIST STUDIOS
Re: Z3100 Error code 01.01:10
« Reply #19 on: November 07, 2017, 12:26:13 pm »

You are in charge of your repairs it would seem, now, if you aren't able to get a pro tech out to work on it.

Good luck,

Mark
Logged
Mark Lindquist
http://z3200.com, http://MarkLindquistPhotography.com
Lindquist Studios.com
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Up