Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Best 24" printer for B+W gallery quality giclee prints  (Read 13981 times)

DaniArt

Best 24" printer for B+W gallery quality giclee prints
« on: May 22, 2014, 09:30:13 am »

Hi All :)

Long time lurker here, finally signed up to post.

I'll jump right in...

I'm an artist who works with a gallery, and I print B+W digital art on matte fine art paper. I currently use the Epson 2880, but it's a bit too small, and I'm in need of an upgrade. I know many of you have the Canon ipf6400 and love that it's hassle free mostly, but there have been some complaints about sheet feeding and the overall quality of the print lacking when compared to the Epson.

I guess I'd just like a few opinions... Is the ipf6400 a good choice for 24" B+W gallery prints on matte paper? Does anyone have experience with this combo (a non gloss paper, and b+w together)?

(Also, I should note that the Epson I use now does not work well with matte paper at ALL. The darker the gray/black on the paper, the grainier the image (and I work with really good photos)).

Thanks in advance!
Dan

shadowblade

Re: Best 24" printer for B+W gallery quality giclee prints
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2014, 09:32:16 am »

Get an old 24" Epson (9600, 9800 or 9880 will all do nicely) and run either MIS Eboni inks or Piezography inks through them.

dseelig

« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2014, 10:33:40 am »

for me I had the epson 7600 . I went to a hp z3100 much better and it profiles papers. ink heads can be replace cheaply and it sips ink where as the epson 7600 is like a vampire . I would go for the newer z 3200 but the 3100 has been great for me . Also no special inks needed for B&W very neutral.

PeterAit

• Peter Aitken Photographs
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2014, 10:36:48 am »

Get an old 24" Epson (9600, 9800 or 9880 will all do nicely) and run either MIS Eboni inks or Piezography inks through them.

Those are 44" printers, but the general idea is a good one.

shadowblade