Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Very poor performance of c1 Pro on new Mac Pro 2019  (Read 3934 times)

BernardLanguillier

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13872
    • http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardlanguillier/sets/
Very poor performance of c1 Pro on new Mac Pro 2019
« on: April 04, 2020, 02:50:01 am »

C1 Pro 12 used to be several times faster than LR on my 2013 Mac Pro. The comparison was done with the previous version of LR, not the latest one.

Now C1 Pro 20 is about 4 times slower than LR on the new Mac Pro 2019... I am very disappointed.

I have raised a ticket to P1 several days back and am waiting for an answer.

Anybody else seeing the same issues?

Cheers,
Bernard

kers

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3872
    • Pieter Kers
Re: Very poor performance of c1 Pro on new Mac Pro 2019
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2020, 06:25:38 am »

i guess you mean it is really slower than on the previous mac ; Or is LR just so much faster?
LR uses all the CPU cores to the limit and makes use of the GPU, so with a MacPro having many cores it could be way faster.

On my 10 core i9 LR is certainly as fast as CaptureOne
Logged
Pieter Kers
www.beeld.nu/la

BernardLanguillier

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13872
    • http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardlanguillier/sets/
Re: Very poor performance of c1 Pro on new Mac Pro 2019
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2020, 08:19:13 am »

i guess you mean it is really slower than on the previous mac ; Or is LR just so much faster?
LR uses all the CPU cores to the limit and makes use of the GPU, so with a MacPro having many cores it could be way faster.

On my 10 core i9 LR is certainly as fast as CaptureOne

I didn't do accurate measures, but I think it's both.

It takes about 25s to process one GFX-100 16 bits raw in C1 Pro on the Mac Pro 2019 and 5s in LR.

I think that it took less than 20s on the Mac Pro 2013 that should be 3-4 times slower.

Cheers,
Bernard

kers

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3872
    • Pieter Kers
Re: Very poor performance of c1 Pro on new Mac Pro 2019
« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2020, 09:03:47 am »

Maybe the GPU does not work well with Phase one- don't have it.
LR has about the same speed on my computer so about 5 sec for an GFX100RAW.
Logged
Pieter Kers
www.beeld.nu/la

BernardLanguillier

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13872
    • http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardlanguillier/sets/
Re: Very poor performance of c1 Pro on new Mac Pro 2019
« Reply #4 on: April 05, 2020, 07:44:09 pm »

Maybe the GPU does not work well with Phase one- don't have it.
LR has about the same speed on my computer so about 5 sec for an GFX100RAW.

Yes, I believe it's a GPU optimization issue. Of a simple bug, the GPU is used at 0% during export...

Regards,
Bernard

JaapD

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 303
Re: Very poor performance of c1 Pro on new Mac Pro 2019
« Reply #5 on: April 06, 2020, 02:20:16 am »

It sure looks like the GPU will not be assessed at all.

Ok, youíre on a Mac so you have a different file system w.r.t. the following procedure. Maybe youíre still able to perform a similar approach as on a Win7 PC.

Force C1 to re-assess the GPU (assuming it is NOT set to "None" under hardware acceleration in the preferences.)
Clear the files to force the re-assessment here:
   C:\ProgramData\Phase One\Capture One\ImageCore

Regards,
Jaap.




Logged

BernardLanguillier

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13872
    • http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardlanguillier/sets/
Re: Very poor performance of c1 Pro on new Mac Pro 2019
« Reply #6 on: April 06, 2020, 05:42:06 am »

It sure looks like the GPU will not be assessed at all.

Ok, youíre on a Mac so you have a different file system w.r.t. the following procedure. Maybe youíre still able to perform a similar approach as on a Win7 PC.

Force C1 to re-assess the GPU (assuming it is NOT set to "None" under hardware acceleration in the preferences.)
Clear the files to force the re-assessment here:
   C:\ProgramData\Phase One\Capture One\ImageCore

Regards,
Jaap.

Thanks a lot. I found this in the KB and tried a few days back, but unfortunately there was no improvement after the profile was rebuilt.

Cheers,
Bernard

kers

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3872
    • Pieter Kers
Re: Very poor performance of c1 Pro on new Mac Pro 2019
« Reply #7 on: April 06, 2020, 06:07:58 am »

So maybe the GPU is not identified by Capture-one... PhaseOne has to come up with answers.
Logged
Pieter Kers
www.beeld.nu/la

JaapD

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 303
Re: Very poor performance of c1 Pro on new Mac Pro 2019
« Reply #8 on: April 06, 2020, 07:02:04 am »

By the way, how much VRAM does your graphics card have? Iím not fully sure on this but I believe C1 needs at least to have a minimum of 2Gb in order to apply GPU processing.

Since you have a recent Mac my question is probably superfluous, but just to be sureÖÖ  ;)

Regards,
Jaap.

Logged

BernardLanguillier

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13872
    • http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardlanguillier/sets/
Re: Very poor performance of c1 Pro on new Mac Pro 2019
« Reply #9 on: April 06, 2020, 05:01:59 pm »

By the way, how much VRAM does your graphics card have? Iím not fully sure on this but I believe C1 needs at least to have a minimum of 2Gb in order to apply GPU processing.

Since you have a recent Mac my question is probably superfluous, but just to be sureÖÖ  ;)

If I am not mistaken 2x32GB. ;)

Cheers,
Bernard

kers

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3872
    • Pieter Kers
Re: Very poor performance of c1 Pro on new Mac Pro 2019
« Reply #10 on: April 07, 2020, 03:41:56 am »

If I am not mistaken 2x32GB. ;)
Should be enough for most Raw files ;)
20 seconds on C1... sounds more like 2x 32MB
Logged
Pieter Kers
www.beeld.nu/la

BernardLanguillier

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13872
    • http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardlanguillier/sets/
Re: Very poor performance of c1 Pro on new Mac Pro 2019
« Reply #11 on: April 07, 2020, 04:09:48 am »

Should be enough for most Raw files ;)
20 seconds on C1... sounds more like 2x 32MB

 ;D

Cheers,
Bernard

Fraktal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 28
Re: Very poor performance of c1 Pro on new Mac Pro 2019
« Reply #12 on: April 07, 2020, 11:31:43 am »

Hello all, i bought a 2019 macbook pro I9/32 GB RAM with Vega 20 GPU and exporting files on Capture One20 is at least 3 times faster than my previous machine macbook pro 2015 I7/16GB RAM.
So i am very pleased with the performance of the new machine and i did not expect such improvement.
Cheers
Logged

BernardLanguillier

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13872
    • http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardlanguillier/sets/
Re: Very poor performance of c1 Pro on new Mac Pro 2019
« Reply #13 on: April 07, 2020, 06:26:50 pm »

Hello all, i bought a 2019 macbook pro I9/32 GB RAM with Vega 20 GPU and exporting files on Capture One20 is at least 3 times faster than my previous machine macbook pro 2015 I7/16GB RAM.
So i am very pleased with the performance of the new machine and i did not expect such improvement.
Cheers

Glad itís working for you. Thatís the kind of improvement I was hoping to see.

I can understand considering the situation obviously, but still no answer from Capture One team.

Cheers,
Bernard

Fraktal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 28
Re: Very poor performance of c1 Pro on new Mac Pro 2019
« Reply #14 on: April 07, 2020, 09:56:12 pm »

Yes, it's annoying to invest lots of bucks and time and get nothing in return. I really hope that things turn for the better soon!
Regards,
Fraktal
Logged

BernardLanguillier

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13872
    • http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardlanguillier/sets/
Re: Very poor performance of c1 Pro on new Mac Pro 2019
« Reply #15 on: April 08, 2020, 12:29:25 am »

Yes, it's annoying to invest lots of bucks and time and get nothing in return. I really hope that things turn for the better soon!
Regards,
Fraktal

Thanks. Capture One was very responsive 6 years ago when Mac Pro 2013 users were facing similar GPU issues.

It took them several dot releases but they managed to make it work with a great level of performance.

The person who was then in charge of their R&D has since left, I hope that the current team will be as effective and resilient.

Cheers,
Bernard

JaapD

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 303
Re: Very poor performance of c1 Pro on new Mac Pro 2019
« Reply #16 on: April 12, 2020, 06:17:42 am »

Maybe, possibly, the GPU data path in the C1 Software is not suited to handle your massive amount of 64 Gb. As an experiment you could try to take out one GPU card, for the time being of course, and see what C1 thinks of this configuration.

Highly speculative of course  ;)

Regards,
Jaap.
Logged

BernardLanguillier

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13872
    • http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardlanguillier/sets/
Re: Very poor performance of c1 Pro on new Mac Pro 2019
« Reply #17 on: April 13, 2020, 08:46:07 am »

Maybe, possibly, the GPU data path in the C1 Software is not suited to handle your massive amount of 64 Gb. As an experiment you could try to take out one GPU card, for the time being of course, and see what C1 thinks of this configuration.

Highly speculative of course  ;)

Regards,
Jaap.

Thanks but thatís not really an option. They come as one module that isnít user serviceable.

Cheers,
Bernard

BernardLanguillier

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13872
    • http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardlanguillier/sets/
Re: Very poor performance of c1 Pro on new Mac Pro 2019
« Reply #18 on: April 14, 2020, 06:37:19 pm »

Got a one line answer from Capture One... 15.4 is not supported... while the issue also occurs on 15.3.

I understand these are difficult times but software companies can work from home with little impact (I know what I am talking about) and Denmark is not that affected...

Regards,
Bernard

BernardLanguillier

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13872
    • http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardlanguillier/sets/
Re: Very poor performance of c1 Pro on new Mac Pro 2019
« Reply #19 on: April 15, 2020, 10:45:37 pm »

I got advise to re-install C1 Pro after a total clean up, rebuilt the OpenCL profile.

I spent 40 mins doing it, no difference whatsoever.

Grrrrr...

Still zero intention from P1 to consider this as a software issue.

Cheers,
Bernard
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up