Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 9   Go Down

Author Topic: Would you find this delta-E acceptable on a new PA271q?  (Read 10343 times)

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15798
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: Would you find this delta-E acceptable on a new PA271q?
« Reply #40 on: March 17, 2019, 08:59:29 am »

We've all been there, Marcin!
Not all of Us.
Logged
Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers"

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15798
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: Would you find this delta-E acceptable on a new PA271q?
« Reply #41 on: March 17, 2019, 09:03:38 am »

LOL. Well I received the replacement. It is a bit better but not excellent or even great. This is at 500:1 contrast, full color gamut.

@Czornyj Hope you are right. Everything else about the monitor is fine.
He is and to remind others of what he wrote:It's a weird software bug'
Logged
Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers"

Czornyj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1861
    • zarzadzaniebarwa.pl
Re: Would you find this delta-E acceptable on a new PA271q?
« Reply #42 on: March 17, 2019, 10:11:37 am »

When you received your replacement have you received also a new spectrometer?! I still suspect there's an issue with the NEC's version colorimeter!
I don't know what colorimeter DigitalDog is using but I am using a EFI ES-2000 spectrophotometer. Would it be possible to rent another spectrometer to try again?

It’s not sensor releated - I have a couple of i1Display Pros and i1Pro2 sensors, the result was the same with all of them. I’m 1000% sure it’s a software bug - there’s strange anomaly in green TRC shape after calibration that causes the above mentioned behavior. The good news is that it’s „curable”, so now we only have to wait for new firmware/SVII revision.

Alan Goldhammer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3860
    • A Goldhammer Photography
Re: Would you find this delta-E acceptable on a new PA271q?
« Reply #43 on: March 17, 2019, 10:25:09 am »

It’s not sensor releated - I have a couple of i1Display Pros and i1Pro2 sensors, the result was the same with all of them. I’m 1000% sure it’s a software bug - there’s strange anomaly in green TRC shape after calibration that causes the above mentioned behavior. The good news is that it’s „curable”, so now we only have to wait for new firmware/SVII revision.
What versions of SpectraView are you and OP using?  I had to do a Win10 install and updated SpectraView to version 1.1.18 (I see that 1.1.19 is now available).  I don't see any problems when I calibrate my monitor (P232W) with an NEC branded colorimeter.  Is this also linked to which NEC monitor one is using?  Pretty strange behavior.
Logged

geneo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 60
Re: Would you find this delta-E acceptable on a new PA271q?
« Reply #44 on: March 17, 2019, 12:37:19 pm »

What versions of SpectraView are you and OP using?  I had to do a Win10 install and updated SpectraView to version 1.1.18 (I see that 1.1.19 is now available).  I don't see any problems when I calibrate my monitor (P232W) with an NEC branded colorimeter.  Is this also linked to which NEC monitor one is using?  Pretty strange behavior.

You meant 1.1.38 and 1.1.39?

I am on 1.1.39. I tried 1.1.38 too. Also tried older i1 sensor with same results. Also see an anomaly in green - a larger correction.
So I will hold onto this one. and contact L2 to see what the engineers have to say.
Logged
Walk softly and carry a big lens

Czornyj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1861
    • zarzadzaniebarwa.pl
Re: Would you find this delta-E acceptable on a new PA271q?
« Reply #45 on: March 17, 2019, 01:46:01 pm »

What versions of SpectraView are you and OP using?  I had to do a Win10 install and updated SpectraView to version 1.1.18 (I see that 1.1.19 is now available).  I don't see any problems when I calibrate my monitor (P232W) with an NEC branded colorimeter.  Is this also linked to which NEC monitor one is using?  Pretty strange behavior.

It doesn’t matter - I tested various versions on various platforms with various sensors with the very same results.

Frans Waterlander

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 326
Re: Would you find this delta-E acceptable on a new PA271q?
« Reply #46 on: March 17, 2019, 02:49:48 pm »

Not all of Us.
You just couldn't help yourself, could you? Again.
Logged

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15798
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: Would you find this delta-E acceptable on a new PA271q?
« Reply #47 on: March 17, 2019, 02:51:19 pm »

You just couldn't help yourself, could you? Again.
Correcting you again, indeed.  :o
At least my posts previous to yours here were based on actual usage and experience with the product under discussion.
Or you finally got a PA271Q despite all the flickering issues you find with NECs (among other so called 'issues')?
« Last Edit: March 17, 2019, 02:57:07 pm by digitaldog »
Logged
Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers"

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15798
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: Would you find this delta-E acceptable on a new PA271q?
« Reply #48 on: March 17, 2019, 04:13:33 pm »

I have tried everything under the sun and the results are still the same. delta-E of white point is fine.
I just calibrated my unit again, still results as expected (shown below).
Let's try something different. Try downloading my custom settings (target file) found here:
http://digitaldog.net/files/ARsPhotoEditing.zip
Unzip,Load in SpectraView and calibrate. How is the report?

Logged
Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers"

Czornyj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1861
    • zarzadzaniebarwa.pl
Re: Would you find this delta-E acceptable on a new PA271q?
« Reply #49 on: March 17, 2019, 04:52:09 pm »

I just calibrated my unit again, still results as expected (shown below).
Let's try something different. Try downloading my custom settings (target file) found here:
http://digitaldog.net/files/ARsPhotoEditing.zip
Unzip,Load in SpectraView and calibrate. How is the report?

It won't help, the calibration target is irrelevant, you can choose different wtpts, brightnesses, TRCs, CRs - there’s always a weird offset in gTRC that causes validation errors.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/qu3pc6yeafldyks/Zrzut%20ekranu%202019-03-17%2021.51.55.png?dl=0

Alan Goldhammer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3860
    • A Goldhammer Photography
Re: Would you find this delta-E acceptable on a new PA271q?
« Reply #50 on: March 17, 2019, 04:52:25 pm »

I just recalibrated my monitor last week and get pretty much the same results that Andrew did.  I did make an error in the software number as was pointed out by a couple of users.  I'm on ver 1.1.38
Logged

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15798
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: Would you find this delta-E acceptable on a new PA271q?
« Reply #51 on: March 17, 2019, 04:54:07 pm »

It won't help, the calibration target is irrelevant, you can choose different wtpts, brightnesses, TRCs, CRs - there’s always a weird offset in gTRC that causes validation errors.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/qu3pc6yeafldyks/Zrzut%20ekranu%202019-03-17%2021.51.55.png?dl=0
I was wondering if a combo of settings would make it work, as it does on this end with the latest version of the Mac software 1.1.39.
Something changed to make your copy work right?
Logged
Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers"

geneo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 60
Re: Would you find this delta-E acceptable on a new PA271q?
« Reply #52 on: March 17, 2019, 05:07:01 pm »

I just calibrated my unit again, still results as expected (shown below).
Let's try something different. Try downloading my custom settings (target file) found here:
http://digitaldog.net/files/ARsPhotoEditing.zip
Unzip,Load in SpectraView and calibrate. How is the report?

That is what I would expect to see. I calibrated with your target and here is what I get. So now we have a direct comparison to affected and non-affected monitors.

I wonder if it was some part supply change. What vintage is your monitor?

Also attached my Green curve. It is not as off as the first one, which may explain why this is a little better.



« Last Edit: March 17, 2019, 05:12:43 pm by geneo »
Logged
Walk softly and carry a big lens

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15798
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: Would you find this delta-E acceptable on a new PA271q?
« Reply #53 on: March 17, 2019, 05:10:03 pm »

I got mine last October.
Logged
Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers"

Czornyj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1861
    • zarzadzaniebarwa.pl
Re: Would you find this delta-E acceptable on a new PA271q?
« Reply #54 on: March 17, 2019, 05:42:25 pm »

I was wondering if a combo of settings would make it work, as it does on this end with the latest version of the Mac software 1.1.39.
Something changed to make your copy work right?

I tried everything, and suddenly something helped. BTW - can you put an USB stick to first upper USB port on the left side, export the settings of your monitor and upload it here (the .nsvs file)?

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15798
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: Would you find this delta-E acceptable on a new PA271q?
« Reply #55 on: March 17, 2019, 07:05:30 pm »

The Set button doesn't seem to be working when selected. Press set to export monitor settings I see, but set doesn't do anything. I've tried all the USB ports. :(
Logged
Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers"

Czornyj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1861
    • zarzadzaniebarwa.pl
Re: Would you find this delta-E acceptable on a new PA271q?
« Reply #56 on: March 17, 2019, 07:36:48 pm »

The Set button doesn't seem to be working when selected. Press set to export monitor settings I see, but set doesn't do anything. I've tried all the USB ports. :(

There's one single USB port above them all (not one of 3 USB3 blue ports on the bottom)  - when you put an USB stick it displays export/load settings automatically.

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15798
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: Would you find this delta-E acceptable on a new PA271q?
« Reply #58 on: March 17, 2019, 07:42:33 pm »

There's one single USB port above them all (not one of 3 USB3 blue ports on the bottom)  - when you put an USB stick it displays export/load settings automatically.
Yeah, found it after pulling the cap off. The file is zipped:


http://digitaldog.net/files/pa271q_87100388TA_a.nsvs.zip
Logged
Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers"

geneo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 60
Re: Would you find this delta-E acceptable on a new PA271q?
« Reply #59 on: March 17, 2019, 07:45:25 pm »

Here's mine:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/2ev4z5oo3ictlpi/pa271q_86100058TB_a_01.nsvs?dl=0

Wish they were human readable.
Do you have yours self calibrated or using factory calibration?
What version of the firmware?
Logged
Walk softly and carry a big lens
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 9   Go Up