Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5   Go Down

Author Topic: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0  (Read 7105 times)

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15652
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
« Reply #60 on: October 19, 2018, 07:29:34 pm »

Thanks Andrew.  That's a good point.  Just filed bugs against LrCC and LrClassic to get the version number added.

Regards,
Tom Hogarty
Adobe Inc.
I suppose maybe it really is, considering what Bridge and PS show (is PS really up to version 20? How time flies):

Logged
Andrew Rodney
Author ďColor Management for Photographers"

Denis de Gannes

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 291
Re: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
« Reply #61 on: October 19, 2018, 08:38:22 pm »

That's what I usually do, and I feel you're right about the level of demand. C1 is very good at tethering, not least because it simply has to be strong in this niche.
"C1 is very good at tethering, not least because it simply has to be strong in this niche."
I am not sure what this comment means? Does this suggest that it is inferior to LR/ACR at its other core feature e.g an application for processing raw digital files from digital cameras? That is a matter of opinion as far as I am concerned.
Processing of raw data from digital cameras has its benefits in that there are multiple applications that utilise different processes and "recipes" for producing the results that appeal to the user, there is no best, accurate, correct etc. In the film days you had the choice of the likes of Agfa, Kodak, Fujifilm, and many other brands.
« Last Edit: October 19, 2018, 08:49:17 pm by Denis de Gannes »
Logged
Equip: iMac (Ret. 5K,27"Mid 2015),macOS 10.14.6

Panagiotis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 331
Re: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
« Reply #62 on: October 20, 2018, 05:15:53 am »

Thanks Andrew.  That's a good point.  Just filed bugs against LrCC and LrClassic to get the version number added.

Regards,
Tom Hogarty
Adobe Inc.

Hi! Since you are here is it possible in the print module alongside the image cell dimensions to have also visible the paper size-dimensions? Now I have to open the printer properties to check what custom size of paper I printed onto. Thanks!
Logged

Christopher

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1452
    • http://www.hauser-photoart.com
Re: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
« Reply #63 on: October 20, 2018, 11:14:35 am »

Tom any chance for PSB and larger file support? Itís getting really annoying and I donít get why itís not done already...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Logged
Christopher Hauser
[email=chris@hauser-p

Rand47

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1547
Re: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
« Reply #64 on: October 20, 2018, 12:00:36 pm »

Hi! Since you are here is it possible in the print module alongside the image cell dimensions to have also visible the paper size-dimensions? Now I have to open the printer properties to check what custom size of paper I printed onto. Thanks!

Can you not achieve this by simply having the rulers turned on?

Rand
Logged
Rand Scott Adams

Panagiotis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 331
Re: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
« Reply #65 on: October 20, 2018, 12:28:04 pm »

Can you not achieve this by simply having the rulers turned on?

Rand

Sure but having something like "320 x 480 mm @ 251 ppi, paper size 432 x 520 mm" would be much simpler and faster to read.
Logged

Mark D Segal

  • Contributor
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12511
    • http://www.markdsegal.com
Re: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
« Reply #66 on: October 20, 2018, 12:58:45 pm »

Sure but having something like "320 x 480 mm @ 251 ppi, paper size 432 x 520 mm" would be much simpler and faster to read.

Rand, yes.

Panagiotis: Yes, you already have this. Turn on the print dimensions that appear in the upper left corner of the print in the Print Module, and turn off the choice of Resolution in the lower right panel, and you will get exactly what you are asking for. See illustration.
Logged
Mark D Segal (formerly MarkDS)
Author: "Scanning Workflows with SilverFast 8....."

Panagiotis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 331
Re: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
« Reply #67 on: October 20, 2018, 01:14:03 pm »

Mark thanks for your input! I was asking for the paper dimensions also  after the image size and resolution information.
Rand, yes.

Panagiotis: Yes, you already have this. Turn on the print dimensions that appear in the upper left corner of the print in the Print Module, and turn off the choice of Resolution in the lower right panel, and you will get exactly what you are asking for. See illustration.

Sent from my Redmi 4X using Tapatalk

Logged

Mark D Segal

  • Contributor
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12511
    • http://www.markdsegal.com
Re: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
« Reply #68 on: October 20, 2018, 01:41:15 pm »

Mark thanks for your input! I was asking for the paper dimensions also  after the image size and resolution information.
Sent from my Redmi 4X using Tapatalk

OK, but don't you now what paper size you are using without seeing this information presented? Can't do any harm of course to add it, but I'm not sure it would tell us anything we don't know already, perhaps thus creating unnecessary information?
Logged
Mark D Segal (formerly MarkDS)
Author: "Scanning Workflows with SilverFast 8....."

Bart_van_der_Wolf

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8214
Re: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
« Reply #69 on: October 20, 2018, 02:00:29 pm »

OK, but don't you now what paper size you are using without seeing this information presented? Can't do any harm of course to add it, but I'm not sure it would tell us anything we don't know already, perhaps thus creating unnecessary information?

Hi Mark,

Suppose you have multiple (same model) printers, or one with multiple drawers, loaded with different sheet sizes?

Cheers,
Bart
Logged
== If you do what you did, you'll get what you got. ==

Mark D Segal

  • Contributor
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12511
    • http://www.markdsegal.com
Re: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
« Reply #70 on: October 20, 2018, 02:21:43 pm »

Hi Mark,

Suppose you have multiple (same model) printers, or one with multiple drawers, loaded with different sheet sizes?

Cheers,
Bart

I hear you, but I have a hard time imagining that one would not know what paper size one is working with at any one moment when the application is being called upon to make a print.
Logged
Mark D Segal (formerly MarkDS)
Author: "Scanning Workflows with SilverFast 8....."

Panagiotis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 331
Re: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
« Reply #71 on: October 20, 2018, 02:41:17 pm »

When I reprint a photograph I go to the print collection I select it and click on the small arrow to open the print.  Now the only thing I need to know before I hit the print button is what paper size (most of the times is a custom size) I have to load in the printer. Currently to do this I open the printer properties to read the exact size because I found difficult to accurately read the rulers.
OK, but don't you now what paper size you are using without seeing this information presented? Can't do any harm of course to add it, but I'm not sure it would tell us anything we don't know already, perhaps thus creating unnecessary information?

Sent from my Redmi 4X using Tapatalk
Logged

Mark D Segal

  • Contributor
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12511
    • http://www.markdsegal.com
Re: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
« Reply #72 on: October 20, 2018, 02:55:55 pm »

When I reprint a photograph I go to the print collection I select it and click on the small arrow to open the print.  Now the only thing I need to know before I hit the print button is what paper size (most of the times is a custom size) I have to load in the printer. Currently to do this I open the printer properties to read the exact size because I found difficult to accurately read the rulers.
Sent from my Redmi 4X using Tapatalk

OK, that makes sense now. Thanks.
Logged
Mark D Segal (formerly MarkDS)
Author: "Scanning Workflows with SilverFast 8....."

Panagiotis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 331
Re: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
« Reply #73 on: October 20, 2018, 03:35:11 pm »

OK, that makes sense now. Thanks.

Mark something like this (I made it in PS :) )
« Last Edit: October 20, 2018, 04:00:01 pm by Panagiotis »
Logged

adias

  • Guest
Re: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
« Reply #74 on: October 20, 2018, 03:51:40 pm »

Lr Splash screen - Version # easy to spot:

Logged

Mark D Segal

  • Contributor
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12511
    • http://www.markdsegal.com
Re: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
« Reply #75 on: October 20, 2018, 06:01:35 pm »

Mark something like this (I made it in PS :) )

They should be able to do that. For the situation you mention it's useful. Why not post it to Adobe as a feature request?
Logged
Mark D Segal (formerly MarkDS)
Author: "Scanning Workflows with SilverFast 8....."

Panagiotis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 331
Re: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
« Reply #76 on: October 21, 2018, 01:58:03 am »

You are right, I will do that.
They should be able to do that. For the situation you mention it's useful. Why not post it to Adobe as a feature request?

Sent from my Redmi 4X using Tapatalk

Logged

HSakols

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1156
    • Hugh Sakols Photography
Re: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
« Reply #77 on: October 22, 2018, 08:52:27 pm »

I hope this isn't something super obvious that I'm missing BUT I can't seem to open my images in Photoshop since the upgrade.  When I select open PSD as smart object, I just get a page of thumb nails of my past work.  What am I doing wrong?
Logged

Zen8

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 247
    • My Photo Collections
Re: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
« Reply #78 on: October 22, 2018, 09:13:16 pm »

There is a PS icon on the top bar. Click on that.

Lustrous

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 25
Re: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
« Reply #79 on: October 23, 2018, 02:07:07 am »

Hi! Since you are here is it possible in the print module alongside the image cell dimensions to have also visible the paper size-dimensions?
Has nobody mentioned Information on the top left of the print window?  Keyboard
It is not "alongside" cell dimensions but rather obvious.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5   Go Up