Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5   Go Down

Author Topic: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0  (Read 5941 times)

Zen8

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 247
    • My Photo Collections
Re: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
« Reply #40 on: October 17, 2018, 10:27:29 am »

Big high ISO difference between Process Versions 4 and 5. ISO 32,000 and I only changed the version. 1st image is version 4. I didn't do any additional editing with the original.
[/quote


Scary! Second image (v5?) looks very "agressive" to me!


Describe aggressive.

Idololab

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 145
    • http://WWW.IDOLOLAB.GR
Re: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
« Reply #41 on: October 17, 2018, 10:39:16 am »

The noise is harsh and more distinguished, i think...
Logged
George Marinos
http://www.idololab.gr/
Fine art Photolab
Athens,Greece

Zen8

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 247
    • My Photo Collections
Re: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
« Reply #42 on: October 17, 2018, 11:56:04 am »

Might be. Exports were from the same file. I really didn't look at that closely. i was interested to see if this update actually made that much of a difference. I don't often cop 100% for 32,000 ISO shot. 

Slobodan Blagojevic

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13321
  • When everyone thinks the same, nobody thinks
    • My website
Re: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
« Reply #43 on: October 17, 2018, 12:20:57 pm »

Might be. Exports were from the same file. I really didn't look at that closely. i was interested to see if this update actually made that much of a difference. I don't often cop 100% for 32,000 ISO shot.

It seems the only thing it does is it darkens the deepest shadows and removes the purple cast. In other words, it seems that the previous version tried too hard to open up areas that should have stayed black, resulting in a purple tint.

Zen8

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 247
    • My Photo Collections
Re: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
« Reply #44 on: October 17, 2018, 12:52:13 pm »

There was a thread at Fred Miranda about this. Canon vs LR. Canon kicked LR around. A welcome fix IMO.

Idololab

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 145
    • http://WWW.IDOLOLAB.GR
Re: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
« Reply #45 on: October 17, 2018, 12:56:17 pm »

Can you share the link, please?
Logged
George Marinos
http://www.idololab.gr/
Fine art Photolab
Athens,Greece

tomhogarty

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Re: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
« Reply #46 on: October 17, 2018, 01:10:33 pm »

Hi,

New version of Lightroom, still wondering why they even bother increasing the first number with this release: https://helpx.adobe.com/lightroom/help/whats-new.html

Regards,

David

This is a very fair question and one we've discussed internally quite a bit.  The Lightroom products (Classic or CC) on desktop no longer include branding based on version number or year.  It's just Lightroom CC or Lightroom Classic.  This is not a new standard in modern software development.  If you need to know the version number it's available in the About Box.  You might need that to check camera support compatibility or if you call tech support to find out if a bug fix is available in version N.X.Y.  From my perspective the most important number for our desktop products is the one to the right of the decimal place.  ACR, LrCC and LrClassic will keep the decimal place in sync in order to give guidance on equivalent camera support.  For example, 2.1 for LrCC, 11.1 for ACR and 8.1 for LrClassic will all have equivalent camera support.  We could just keep moving the decimal up to .9 then roll the integer but rolling the integer once a year seems to make it more consistent and predictable.  We've clearly moved away from the prior model of big version number updates that require an incremental upgrade payment to a model where we try to deliver value in every release.  So that integer is merely "housekeeping" at this point. 

Regards,
Tom Hogarty
Adobe Inc.
Logged

Zen8

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 247
    • My Photo Collections
Re: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
« Reply #47 on: October 17, 2018, 01:17:50 pm »

Can you share the link, please?

I'll try to find it.

Zen8

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 247
    • My Photo Collections
Re: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
« Reply #48 on: October 17, 2018, 02:31:08 pm »

Sorry. Must have been over a year ago. Archives only go back a year. Best I can do.

https://www.fredmiranda.com/forum/topic/1566626/#14633481     

bdp

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 266
    • http://www.bendearnleyphotography.com
Re: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
« Reply #49 on: October 17, 2018, 03:19:56 pm »

There's nothing to stop an industrious third party from offering a Lightroom plugin for tethering from your brand of camera ... that's how the first tethering option was offered, then Adobe added the feature themselves  for the 2 major brands at the time.

It's all based upon the manufacturer's SDK for tethering ... does your camera maker offer such an SDK?


Yes, I think Sony have an SDK. They have a little app for tethering, and I know I could get pdseudo tethering by using an app in the background and LR's auto import. But 1, it's slower, and 2, you can't have 'same as previous' develop settings applied to new images as they are imported. You have to make a preset very time you change something minor then specify that to be applied on import. Very clunky and impractical.



Logged

ButchM

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 733
Re: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
« Reply #50 on: October 17, 2018, 03:34:17 pm »


Yes, I think Sony have an SDK. They have a little app for tethering, and I know I could get pdseudo tethering by using an app in the background and LR's auto import. But 1, it's slower, and 2, you can't have 'same as previous' develop settings applied to new images as they are imported. You have to make a preset very time you change something minor then specify that to be applied on import. Very clunky and impractical.

Have you tried this ...

http://dslrsoftware.com/tethered_shot.php
Logged

bdp

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 266
    • http://www.bendearnleyphotography.com
Re: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
« Reply #51 on: October 17, 2018, 06:09:46 pm »

Have you tried this ...

http://dslrsoftware.com/tethered_shot.php


Thanks, this might be a solution. It seems a little out of date, with no mention of A7rIII or LR 8.0. I installed it but it doesn't seem to work - just says No Camera Detected. I have contacted the developer.


« Last Edit: October 17, 2018, 06:57:37 pm by bdp »
Logged

Martin Kristiansen

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 878
    • Martin Kristiansen
Re: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
« Reply #52 on: October 17, 2018, 11:53:59 pm »

Sony tethers with full functionality and ease with C1 so it could and should work with LR.
Logged

bdp

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 266
    • http://www.bendearnleyphotography.com
Re: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
« Reply #53 on: October 18, 2018, 03:20:12 am »

Sony tethers with full functionality and ease with C1 so it could and should work with LR.


I wish.


Adobe only supports Canon and Nikon, and 3 Leica cameras. The connection is usually flaky (last time I owned a Canon) and there is no live video, so lots of reasons to use C1 instead for tethering.


However I'm so much faster processing a large number of files in LR and prefer the look. I will continue to tether in C1 and process in LR unless things change and Adobe wants to get serious about supporting the presumably small percentage of users who want professional level tethering.



Logged

john beardsworth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4559
    • My photography site
Re: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
« Reply #54 on: October 18, 2018, 04:45:37 am »

However I'm so much faster processing a large number of files in LR and prefer the look. I will continue to tether in C1 and process in LR unless things change and Adobe wants to get serious about supporting the presumably small percentage of users who want professional level tethering.

That's what I usually do, and I feel you're right about the level of demand. C1 is very good at tethering, not least because it simply has to be strong in this niche.

Martin Kristiansen

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 878
    • Martin Kristiansen
Re: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
« Reply #55 on: October 18, 2018, 04:52:57 am »

My workflow exactly. Tether in Capture 1. Import into LR. The sessions in C1ís a very convenient envelope for a Reuterís commercial shoot.

Personal work isnít tethered and is processed in C1 rather than LR. Prefer the tools.
Logged

Idololab

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 145
    • http://WWW.IDOLOLAB.GR
Re: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
« Reply #56 on: October 18, 2018, 08:18:39 am »

Sorry. Must have been over a year ago. Archives only go back a year. Best I can do.

https://www.fredmiranda.com/forum/topic/1566626/#14633481   
Thank you anyway. :)
Logged
George Marinos
http://www.idololab.gr/
Fine art Photolab
Athens,Greece

davidgp

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 755
    • davidgp fotografia
Re: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
« Reply #57 on: October 19, 2018, 08:27:18 am »

This is a very fair question and one we've discussed internally quite a bit.  The Lightroom products (Classic or CC) on desktop no longer include branding based on version number or year.  It's just Lightroom CC or Lightroom Classic.  This is not a new standard in modern software development.  If you need to know the version number it's available in the About Box.  You might need that to check camera support compatibility or if you call tech support to find out if a bug fix is available in version N.X.Y.  From my perspective the most important number for our desktop products is the one to the right of the decimal place.  ACR, LrCC and LrClassic will keep the decimal place in sync in order to give guidance on equivalent camera support.  For example, 2.1 for LrCC, 11.1 for ACR and 8.1 for LrClassic will all have equivalent camera support.  We could just keep moving the decimal up to .9 then roll the integer but rolling the integer once a year seems to make it more consistent and predictable.  We've clearly moved away from the prior model of big version number updates that require an incremental upgrade payment to a model where we try to deliver value in every release.  So that integer is merely "housekeeping" at this point. 

Regards,
Tom Hogarty
Adobe Inc.

Dear Tom Hogarty,

First, I was really surprised to see that you replied to my comment, many thanks for that :)

I still think it is quite important for the user to know which version is running. It is easier to understand why you have a functionality or not, but more important, to know if a version is going to have problems with some hardware, OS, printing process and report back to you (and by you I mean Adobe) or to discuss it here in the forums. After all, I'm quite sure you always try not to have new bugs or regression bugs in your software, but as a software developer myself, I know how difficult it can be.

Anyway, I get your point. You (Adobe) will release several versions of Lightroom Classic per year, some of them will have more "important", "more visual", "more eye attraction" updates, and other will be just minor new things (I suppose that depends in each user), bugfixes and camera and lens support. Not to expect because you increase the first number to have lots of new features like in the past.

Regards,

David

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15377
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
« Reply #58 on: October 19, 2018, 04:43:21 pm »

I still think it is quite important for the user to know which version is running
I agree. But as Tom points out, it's pretty easy to do so. With the 'About' screen for one. Now at least on the Mac, they could (could they?) make it easier using Get Info? This shown below isn't at all intuitive Tom.
The other guys? Easy.

Logged
Andrew Rodney
Author ďColor Management for Photographers"

tomhogarty

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Re: Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
« Reply #59 on: October 19, 2018, 07:13:43 pm »

Thanks Andrew.  That's a good point.  Just filed bugs against LrCC and LrClassic to get the version number added.

Regards,
Tom Hogarty
Adobe Inc.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5   Go Up