Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6] 7   Go Down

Author Topic: Capture One Pro 8 available now!  (Read 36160 times)

Tilman Paulin

  • Guest
Re: Capture One Pro 8 available now!
« Reply #100 on: September 26, 2014, 01:37:55 pm »

played around with the v08 trial last night:

The improved HDR tools are worth the upgrade alone :) In previous versions shadow/highlight recovery was fairly limited by affecting the midtones too much.

The new clone option is great too. Makes life much easier that you can still adjust the raw-file after doing some cloning.

Also really happy with the new local adjustment options of whitebalance, HDR and Noise Reduction.
I could only use Luminance Noise Reduction locally though. The Color Noise slider was greyed out. Anyone else had this?


cheers,
Tilman


P.S.: the bigger sliders are a nice change too. It's small things like that that can really add up to a better usability.

Oh, and I second the feature request for a local "Curves" adjustment :)
« Last Edit: September 26, 2014, 06:23:53 pm by Tilman Paulin »
Logged

brntoki

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 73
Re: Capture One Pro 8 available now!
« Reply #101 on: September 27, 2014, 11:35:40 am »

Although a curve inside local adjustments would be even better.

YES! THIS! Can't believe that wouldn't be included. A real headscratcher.
Logged

Hägar the horrible

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 49
    • http://www.andidietrich.com
Re: Capture One Pro 8 available now!
« Reply #102 on: October 02, 2014, 04:47:27 pm »

I already updated to v8, I guess I am going to like it!

is there any word if it uses the dual graphic card of the MP13 and if there is an important difference whether the card is a d300, d500 or a d700? Thanks
Logged

deejjjaaaa

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1170
Re: Capture One Pro 8 available now!
« Reply #103 on: October 02, 2014, 05:17:22 pm »

I already updated to v8, I guess I am going to like it!

is there any word if it uses the dual graphic card of the MP13 and if there is an important difference whether the card is a d300, d500 or a d700? Thanks

for C1v7 it was (and C1v8 can't be worse, can it ) :


Quote
OpenCL hardware support (as of June 17, 2014)
This is an overview of the supported GPU hardware for Capture One.
Updated list of supported cards
Nvidia:
Tesla series
Quadro 4000, 5000, 6000 series
GTX Titan series
GTX, GTXM 700 series
GTX, GTXM 600 series
GTX 500 series
GTX 200 series

AMD:
Dual AMD FirePro D300 (Mac Pro)
Dual AMD FirePro D500 (Mac Pro)
Dual AMD FirePro D700 (Mac Pro)

Radeon R100 (7xxx) Series
Radeon R200 (8xxx, 9xxx) Series
Radeon R300 Series
Radeon R400 Series
Radeon R500 (X1xxx) Series
Radeon R600 (HD 2xxx, HD 3xxx) Series

HD9000 series
HD8000 series,
HD7000 series,
HD6000 series,
HD7000M series,
HD6000M series

Recommended for best performance:
NVIDIA: GTX TITAN Z, Geforce GTX780Ti
AMD: Dual D700, HD7950
Logged

eleanorbrown

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 637
    • Eleanor Brown Photography
Re: Capture One Pro 8 available now!
« Reply #104 on: October 02, 2014, 08:17:37 pm »

Is there any print soft proof in Capture One 8 similiar to Lightroom where one can make changes on the proof on screen on the chosen printing paper before printing?  I haven't found anything like this so far though I really enjoying working with version 8.
Eleanor
Logged
Eleanor Brown
[url=http://www.eleanorbro

qwz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 136
    • http://vassiliev.net
Re: Capture One Pro 8 available now!
« Reply #105 on: October 03, 2014, 03:56:47 am »

You can set a Printer+Paper profile in the View>Proof profile menu BUT is better to keep there Selected Recipe option and choose Profile in particular Process Recipe. In this way you can quickly review colours and gamma simply buy swithcing between Recipes.
Also inside Print dialog you can choose any profile you have installed.
Logged

Camdavidson

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 185
    • http://www.camerondavidson.com
Re: Capture One Pro 8 available now!
« Reply #106 on: October 03, 2014, 08:55:45 am »

Yesterday, I spent the day with the good folks of Capture Integration in Silver Spring, Maryland.  They are touring their Capture One 8 "Serious Technical Training" program/workshop.

It is a excellent workshop - a bit head-spinning with lots of details, great information and hidden tricks for the newest version.  It was well worth my time and the minimal cost.

They're headed to New England next and then on to Chicago.

My former assistant is a photographer in Pittsburgh and he flew in with his assistant to take the workshop.  I met a couple of people that drove five hours to get there.

https://captureintegration.com/serious-technical-training-2014/

I am a many year customer of CI and have always been pleased with their pricing and support.  

If you use C1 - this is a very good program.  I learned quite a few tips and tricks.

 
« Last Edit: October 03, 2014, 09:09:11 am by Camdavidson »
Logged

eleanorbrown

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 637
    • Eleanor Brown Photography
Re: Capture One Pro 8 available now!
« Reply #107 on: October 03, 2014, 11:25:47 am »

Thanks for the info.  What I need is a a screen view of the output soft proof where I can make develop changes before printing. It  is impossible for me to make the necessary changes...saturation, curves, etc etc on the non soft proofed image.  If I can't do this in C1 I will have to output a 16 bit tif to Lightroom and soft proof and print from there. Eleanor

You can set a Printer+Paper profile in the View>Proof profile menu BUT is better to keep there Selected Recipe option and choose Profile in particular Process Recipe. In this way you can quickly review colours and gamma simply buy swithcing between Recipes.
Also inside Print dialog you can choose any profile you have installed.
Logged
Eleanor Brown
[url=http://www.eleanorbro

David Grover / Capture One

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1324
    • Capture One
Re: Capture One Pro 8 available now!
« Reply #108 on: October 06, 2014, 05:58:52 am »

Thanks for the info.  What I need is a a screen view of the output soft proof where I can make develop changes before printing. It  is impossible for me to make the necessary changes...saturation, curves, etc etc on the non soft proofed image.  If I can't do this in C1 I will have to output a 16 bit tif to Lightroom and soft proof and print from there. Eleanor


Follow QWZ's advice.  You won't need to output a 16bit tiff.  Just make a process recipe with your print profile or go to View>Proof Profile and select it there..

Logged
David Grover
Business Support and Development Manager

eleanorbrown

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 637
    • Eleanor Brown Photography
Re: Capture One Pro 8 available now!
« Reply #109 on: October 06, 2014, 03:41:40 pm »

OK I am confused.  Yes I have gone to view print profile and either click on a process recipe OR just select my printer/paper profile...say Harman Gloss Bright or Warm White gloss, etc.  After doing this I see absolutely no change in the original on screen image.  The "proof" shows I need make no changes before printing to match my on screen print...no saturation change, no slight contrast correction,nothing.  When I proof in lightroom even on glossy papers it shows me the image as it would appear "on paper".  I can't seem to find anywhere in C1 that will let me proof this way.  What am I doing wrong?  OK...a quick edit here:  I just went back and did the same thing with an image that had very deep shadows and the one thing I do notice is that the shadows became ever so slightly duller with say epson exhibition fiber paper...as they should.  The change in soft proof in C1 is not as pronounced as in Lightroom which is what I've been using for proofing.  Think I'm beginning to see what you all are talking about here.....Thanks again, Eleanor

Follow QWZ's advice.  You won't need to output a 16bit tiff.  Just make a process recipe with your print profile or go to View>Proof Profile and select it there..


« Last Edit: October 06, 2014, 05:38:06 pm by eleanorbrown »
Logged
Eleanor Brown
[url=http://www.eleanorbro

deejjjaaaa

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1170
Re: Capture One Pro 8 available now!
« Reply #110 on: October 08, 2014, 04:34:49 pm »

David, as P1 established some kind of cooperation with Sony it seems are we to expect "camera matching" profiles (to mimic OOC JPG styles) from P1 for Sony cameras in addition to Generic and Standard profiles available in v8 ?
Logged

David Grover / Capture One

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1324
    • Capture One
Re: Capture One Pro 8 available now!
« Reply #111 on: October 08, 2014, 05:18:13 pm »

I'm not sure why you would assume that?
Logged
David Grover
Business Support and Development Manager

deejjjaaaa

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1170
Re: Capture One Pro 8 available now!
« Reply #112 on: October 08, 2014, 05:36:53 pm »

I'm not sure why you would assume that?
OK, P1 decided to target Sony dSLM/dSLR users regardless of Sony itself - the question actually stands about camera JPG matching profiles...
Logged

David Grover / Capture One

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1324
    • Capture One
Re: Capture One Pro 8 available now!
« Reply #113 on: October 08, 2014, 05:40:53 pm »

Like any possible feature in Capture One considerations of demand vs expense dictates wether it will go to market.
Logged
David Grover
Business Support and Development Manager

eleanorbrown

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 637
    • Eleanor Brown Photography
Re: Capture One Pro 8 available now!
« Reply #114 on: October 08, 2014, 06:29:44 pm »

Here's something I can't seem to find a solution too.  I can create a clone variant and view proof profile and then select whatever printer/paper combination I choose to profile and make any necessary changes to the file before printing.  However I can't just save this variant ...what happens is that I have to look at literally ALL my image files at this paper proof profile unless I change the cloned printing variant back to my standard Pro Photo viewing editing space.  Any suggestions??  Thanks Eleanor
Logged
Eleanor Brown
[url=http://www.eleanorbro

deejjjaaaa

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1170
Re: Capture One Pro 8 available now!
« Reply #115 on: October 08, 2014, 08:52:42 pm »

Like any possible feature in Capture One considerations of demand vs expense dictates wether it will go to market.
if you are targeting regular Sony users w/ special low prices (C1Pro for Sony) you might expect those users to ask for those profiles (Adobe again does provide such camera matching profiles for Sony cameras, even for Olympus and Fuji with their lesser marketshare vs C&N&S)
Logged

fotolli

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 282
Re: Capture One Pro 8 available now!
« Reply #116 on: October 09, 2014, 03:12:36 am »

What I would like to know is, if liveview for the Sony A7r is going to happen soon?

thanks,

Oliver
Logged

Jim MSP

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 55
Re: Capture One Pro 8 available now!
« Reply #117 on: October 09, 2014, 08:53:38 am »

Like any possible feature in Capture One considerations of demand vs expense dictates wether it will go to market.
Does this apply as well to the lack of integration with your own product, Media Pro, even though the demand (as seen on your own forums) is there?
You continue to sell MP with the implication that it works withe CO 8.

Jim
Logged

R_Yosha

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
Re: Capture One Pro 8 available now!
« Reply #118 on: October 10, 2014, 03:32:11 am »

8.0.1.16
What's new except color sliders?
Logged

Bart_van_der_Wolf

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8901
Re: Capture One Pro 8 available now!
« Reply #119 on: October 10, 2014, 04:17:51 am »

8.0.1.16
What's new except color sliders?

According to the release notes (you can download the PDF at their website, which also lists all changes for version 8):

Highlights, Capture One 8.0.1
This is a service release providing bug and crash fixes and improved camera support

Capture support
• Support  for  uncompressed  file  formats  from  Nikon  D810  and  D4s

Bug fixes
• Fixed  a issue with Template folders
• Fixed  an issue with reading certain Fujifilm files
• Fixed  an issue with renaming a single file
• Fixed  a few issues with Repair Layers
• Fixed  a few issues with Focus Mask
• Fixed  a few issues with Nikon Live View
• Fixed  keyword incompatibility with Adobe Lightroom  4
• Fixed  numerous other bugs
• Fixed  several crashes
• Fixed  several user interface bugs and misalignments

Cheers,
Bart
« Last Edit: October 10, 2014, 04:21:38 am by BartvanderWolf »
Logged
== If you do what you did, you'll get what you got. ==
Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6] 7   Go Up