Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 9   Go Down

Author Topic: Nikon has its Mark III  (Read 31030 times)

BernardLanguillier

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13918
    • http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardlanguillier/sets/
Nikon has its Mark III
« on: June 26, 2014, 12:11:06 am »

HarperPhotos

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1309
    • http://www.harperphoto.com
Re: Nikon has its Mark III
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2014, 12:33:48 am »

Hello,

Where’s the Global shutter I wanted. Bad Nikon!

Heck if the Australians can put a Global shutter in a Black Magic video camera then it can't be that hard to do.

Cheers

Simon
« Last Edit: June 26, 2014, 12:35:47 am by HarperPhotos »
Logged
Simon Harper
Harper Photographics Ltd
http://www.harperphoto.com
http://www.facebook.com/harper.photographics

Auckland, New Zealand

David Anderson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 715
    • http://www.twigwater.com
Re: Nikon has its Mark III
« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2014, 12:42:54 am »

Interested.

In truth though, the camera being made in Thailand and not Japan gives me pause.
Maybe it no longer matters ?
Certainly the new Chinese Nikon lenses I have seem just fine.

Logged

CptZar

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 157
Re: Nikon has its Mark III
« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2014, 01:07:33 am »

Title says it. Agreed.

BernardLanguillier

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13918
    • http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardlanguillier/sets/
Re: Nikon has its Mark III
« Reply #4 on: June 26, 2014, 01:24:11 am »

Title says it. Agreed.

Yep, boring but probably very effective. ;)

I had been hesitating all along to add an E to my D800 since I have been running without a back up DSLR for almost a year, this comes at the perfect timing for me.

Cheers,
Bernard

fdisilvestro

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1759
    • Frank Disilvestro
Re: Nikon has its Mark III
« Reply #5 on: June 26, 2014, 03:21:07 am »

Am I the only one who thinks that sRaw is worthless? When I heard about a reduced size raw file, I was thinking in something along the lines of Phase one's  Sensor +, but the way it is implemented in Nikon does not make any sense.

There is an in depth analysis of Nikon sRaw here

Simon Garrett

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 742
Re: Nikon has its Mark III
« Reply #6 on: June 26, 2014, 07:02:35 am »

Am I the only one who thinks that sRaw is worthless?

No, there are at least two of us!

There are some useful improvements in the D810.  An extra persuasion for those that don't have a D800/e, but not enough for me as an amateur photographer to consider upgrading.

Just doing the sums: in UK ££s, the going rate for a D800 on ebay at the moment is around £1,400 if you're lucky, and will probably drop quite a bit now the D810 is announced.  A D810 is £2,699.  To upgrade would cost at least £1299 (probably more), which is not worth it to me as an amateur (and occasional professional) photographer.
Logged

JohnBrew

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 868
    • http://www.johnbrewton.zenfolio.com
Re: Nikon has its Mark III
« Reply #7 on: June 26, 2014, 07:26:20 am »

Whew! That's a relief. Now that the specs are released I don't have to worry about upgrading. I think my D800 will soldier on quite gracefully.
Note to Nikon: Where's the FX mirrorless with F-mount? Or maybe a carbon-fibre body? The D800 was a game changer, Nikon needs to move to the next level. These minor upgrades will not get my money.

David Anderson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 715
    • http://www.twigwater.com
Re: Nikon has its Mark III
« Reply #8 on: June 26, 2014, 08:22:48 am »

Maybe the S raw would be good for jobs where you want all the processing benefits of Raw but not the big files ?
On-line only stuff ?
5x7's ?



Logged

fdisilvestro

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1759
    • Frank Disilvestro
Re: Nikon has its Mark III
« Reply #9 on: June 26, 2014, 09:33:36 am »

If sRAW is like the one in the D4s then you don't really get the benefits of Raw:
- color data in YCbCr, not RGB (as in a JPG)
- white balance baked in the data
- tone curve applied to the data
- color information shared between two adjacent pixels

It looks more like a half-way through JPEG and apparently there is not much gain in reduced file size compared to a lossy compressed 12 bit full size RAW.

If sRAW were similar to Phase one's Sensor +, then it would really be worth.

Regards

swisscheese

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19
    • Marschall Photography
Re: Nikon has its Mark III
« Reply #10 on: June 26, 2014, 09:44:56 am »

If the AF is more consistent than in my D800, that alone will make me buy it.
I would really like to have a better keeper rate, at wide open apertures.
Other things that come to mind:

- Bigger grip,
- Better live video,
- Smoother shutter

Markus
Logged

Ellis Vener

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2151
    • http://www.ellisvener.com
Re: Nikon has its Mark III
« Reply #11 on: June 26, 2014, 10:01:51 am »

Clearly someone was asking for an sRAW format implementation.

I can see the following uses for sRAw:
- photos that will only be used online for news and celebrity "paparazzi"  purposes - where photos need to be transmitted quickly.
- Some Catalog photography, particulalry of small items that will be reproduced on lien and in print, particulary of small items.

For general purpose photography, particularly for landscape, wildlife, and general nature photography - it isn't meant for that.
Logged

Jim Kasson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2370
    • The Last Word
Re: Nikon has its Mark III
« Reply #12 on: June 26, 2014, 11:16:17 am »

Whew! That's a relief. Now that the specs are released I don't have to worry about upgrading. I think my D800 will soldier on quite gracefully.
Note to Nikon: Where's the FX mirrorless with F-mount? Or maybe a carbon-fibre body? The D800 was a game changer, Nikon needs to move to the next level. These minor upgrades will not get my money.

While I'm a bit disappointed along the same lines, the EFCS alone will make me upgrade, and -- hope springs eternal -- maybe they've fixed live view so that it looks like the LV on the a7R.

Jim

Ben Rubinstein

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1821
Re: Nikon has its Mark III
« Reply #13 on: June 26, 2014, 11:55:44 am »

How is the canon sRAW in comparison? Is it closer to a real raw?
Logged

Torbjörn Tapani

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 319
Re: Nikon has its Mark III
« Reply #14 on: June 26, 2014, 02:52:37 pm »

I would like sRAW for timelapse and such, but this implementation seems lacking...

A great camera made better. Electronic fist curtain is a welcome update. But I won't be upgrading the E any time soon.
Logged

Paul2660

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4053
    • Photos of Arkansas
Re: Nikon has its Mark III
« Reply #15 on: June 26, 2014, 04:07:27 pm »

Very surprised to see no WIFI included.  Pretty much standard feature with all digital bodies now.

Paul

Logged
Paul Caldwell
Little Rock, Arkansas U.S.
www.photosofarkansas.com

Simon Garrett

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 742
Re: Nikon has its Mark III
« Reply #16 on: June 26, 2014, 04:20:03 pm »

Very surprised to see no WIFI included.  Pretty much standard feature with all digital bodies now.

Me to, slightly, but typical wifi throughput is a bit slow for 36M pixel raw files.  Great if you've got a 300 Mbit wifi link, but more typical is 54 Mbit or less.  That gives you around 22 Mbit throughput (wifi protocol overhead takes the rest), which is around 2.2 Mbyte/s throughput.  And D810 raw files can be 50 Mbyte or more...

Good for jpeg, or at home with a fast wifi router, if you don't mind the battery hit.  

I upgraded the house Ethernet to 1G once I had to move D800 raw files about. 
« Last Edit: June 26, 2014, 04:21:49 pm by Simon Garrett »
Logged

Paul2660

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4053
    • Photos of Arkansas
Re: Nikon has its Mark III
« Reply #17 on: June 26, 2014, 07:12:05 pm »

Wifi for me would mainly be for remote control of the camera and a preview jpg.  Basically what camranger allows. Just need to go ahead and get one.

Paul






Logged
Paul Caldwell
Little Rock, Arkansas U.S.
www.photosofarkansas.com

Chris Kern

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1883
    • Chris Kern's Eponymous Website
Re: Nikon has its Mark III
« Reply #18 on: June 26, 2014, 09:19:42 pm »

Integral GPS would have been nice.

Paul2660

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4053
    • Photos of Arkansas
Re: Nikon has its Mark III
« Reply #19 on: June 26, 2014, 10:19:10 pm »

Initial specs had a built in GPS. I guess it didn't make the cut.

Paul
Logged
Paul Caldwell
Little Rock, Arkansas U.S.
www.photosofarkansas.com
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 9   Go Up