Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: how to get my canon files to look more like nikon (warm tones)  (Read 28341 times)

jessterb

Hi all, while I’ve been here before, it’s my first time posting in this forum.  I realize my subject line is a loaded question, but please bear with me.  :)

I’ve been shooting Canon for a few years now and currently have a Canon 5DmkIII.  While this may seem strange to some, I actually love the rich warm colors Nikon delivers and am trying to get my canon files to look like more or less like that.

To give you an idea, if you visit danielaguilarblog.com, this is a perfect example as this photographer shoots in JPEG (with his Nikon D700), so what you see is very close to SOOC.  Obviously different lighting will yield different results, but I find the tones in Nikon files to simply have a nice golden/brown-ish/tan-ish look to them… as opposed to the orange/yellow (yet often red-ish) tones I’m getting when bumping up the temperature and adjusting my canon files in lightroom.

I’ve worked with the HSL sliders, curves, split tones, etc, for countless hours… but I just can’t get that rich subtle golden look of the Nikon files.

Can I accomplish what I’m trying to accomplish via camera calibration perhaps? 

neile

• http://www.danecreekfolios.com
Re: how to get my canon files to look more like nikon (warm tones)
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2012, 01:28:29 pm »

Did you try adjusting the temp slider more towards yellow?

Neil
Neil Enns
Dane Creek Folio Covers. Limited edition Tuscan Sun and Citron covers are now in stock!

jessterb

« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2012, 01:34:53 pm »

Hi Neil,

Yes, but I get more yellow (and orange) 'pee-like' by doing that.