Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Problems moving LR6 installation  (Read 438 times)

Rhossydd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3183
    • http://www.paulholman.com
Problems moving LR6 installation
« on: August 08, 2021, 09:47:31 am »

I want to move my main installation of Lightroom 6 to a new computer, both Windows 10.
I also have a copy on my Win 7 laptop.

I can’t activate the new copy because there are already two installations (old system & laptop).
I can't sign in on either system because of an 'unsupported browser or OS' issue. Although I'm running the latest OS & browser.

I’m unable to deactivate any of the existing installations as neither offer a sign out or deactivate option. My Adobe account doesn’t detail each copy or allow me to remotely deactivate either.

What do I do ? I haven't had this issue before when upgrading.
Adobe chat refers me to the forums, so posted there as well, but someone here might have bumped into this too.

<later>

So Chat referred me to the community support forums, who in turn referred me back to the chat system.
Two hours on Adobe's chat system and I finally get through to the right person that can change my activation count and it gets fixed in a minute.


Rick; If you read this can you please give someone a kick to make this less of a problem. It seems a new issue I haven't had when moving installations in the past, but I won't be the only one that hits this wall and will create further ill will to Adobe and waste a lot of your support staff's time.
« Last Edit: August 08, 2021, 11:51:47 am by Rhossydd »
Logged

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18714
  • Andrew Rodney
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: Problems moving LR6 installation
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2021, 01:21:05 pm »

You will have to contact Adobe to deactivate on their end.
https://www.adobe.com/about-adobe/contact.html
Logged
Author “Color Management for Photographers" & "Photoshop CC Color Management" on pluralsight.com

Rhossydd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3183
    • http://www.paulholman.com
Re: Problems moving LR6 installation
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2021, 02:07:13 pm »

You will have to contact Adobe to deactivate on their end.
As I said above.

I just don't know why they've changed the system to make it so much harder. It's not going to win them many new customers by making their past customers spend two hours on chat to be able to move LR to a new computer.
Logged

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18714
  • Andrew Rodney
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: Problems moving LR6 installation
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2021, 02:14:08 pm »

As I said above.

I just don't know why they've changed the system to make it so much harder. It's not going to win them many new customers by making their past customers spend two hours on chat to be able to move LR to a new computer.
You want this fixed? As I said above (or below depending on the  prefs); the fix is to call Adobe.
You want to know why the system changed many years ago, prior to CC? You can ask then while they fix your activation issues. I doubt you'll get an answer. But you can try hitting two birds with one stone.
What do I do ?
Question answered.
As for 'winning new customers", check out the number of CC users since LR6 was introduced. Don't worry about their business model, they are doing just fine.
Logged
Author “Color Management for Photographers" & "Photoshop CC Color Management" on pluralsight.com

Rhossydd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3183
    • http://www.paulholman.com
Re: Problems moving LR6 installation
« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2021, 02:20:47 pm »

You want this fixed? As I said above (or below depending on the  prefs); the fix is to call Adobe.
No, it was fixed after two hours on chat, please read the first post.
Quote
You want to know why the system changed many years ago, prior to CC?
No, again, read my posts. This is a NEW issue, I've upgraded system several times since CC as recently as this year without this issue. Something has changed.
Logged

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18714
  • Andrew Rodney
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: Problems moving LR6 installation
« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2021, 02:25:29 pm »

No, it was fixed after two hours on chat, please read the first post.No, again, read my posts.
Great!
Quote
This is a NEW issue, I've upgraded system several times since CC as recently as this year without this issue. Something has changed.
CALL ADOBE and get if fixed; WE can't do that here. Adobe can!
And no, CC activation and LR6 using a serial number and activation (last perpetual version) differ.
Quote
So Chat referred me to the community support forums, who in turn referred me back to the chat system.
Two hours on Adobe's chat system and I finally get through to the right person that can change my activation count and it gets fixed in a minute.
Stop chatting, start calling; that is a possibility, it can be effective.
Logged
Author “Color Management for Photographers" & "Photoshop CC Color Management" on pluralsight.com

Rhossydd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3183
    • http://www.paulholman.com
Re: Problems moving LR6 installation
« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2021, 02:47:41 pm »

And no, CC activation and LR6 using a serial number and activation (last perpetual version) differ.
Yes, I know that. You say activation of LR6 hasn't changed since 2017 when CC was imposed, I'm pointing out that activation and deactivation for LR6 HAS changed and recently too.

If it takes two hours on online chat to get through to the right person to deal with an issue, do you seriously think a phone call will make any difference ?
OTOH I know at least one Adobe  employee actually connected with LR occasionally contributes here, so there's slightly more hope of them being aware of it.
Logged

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18714
  • Andrew Rodney
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: Problems moving LR6 installation
« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2021, 02:50:51 pm »

Yes, I know that. You say activation of LR6 hasn't changed since 2017 when CC was imposed, I'm pointing out that activation and deactivation for LR6 HAS changed and recently too.
An assumption. And it's moot. You asked a question here. One cannot be answered and it too is moot. The other was answered. Get on the phone.
Quote
If it takes two hours on online chat to get through to the right person to deal with an issue, do you seriously think a phone call will make any difference ?
How much time would you like to waste for me, you and others HERE?
Quote
OTOH I know at least one Adobe  employee actually connected with LR occasionally contributes here, so there's slightly more hope of them being aware of it.
Fine, wait for that one Adobe employee. Hopefully he/she has control over activation. Or can explain to you what you 'think' has changed.  ;)
There seems to be some perverse human characteristic that likes to make easy things difficult.” -Warren Buffett
Adiós.
Logged
Author “Color Management for Photographers" & "Photoshop CC Color Management" on pluralsight.com

Rhossydd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3183
    • http://www.paulholman.com
Re: Problems moving LR6 installation
« Reply #8 on: August 08, 2021, 02:57:59 pm »

An assumption.
No, something's changed.

If you' can't be bothered to read my posts fully and provide helpful contributions, just ignore them.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up