Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Profoto D1 lights firing bad  (Read 2837 times)

kevs

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 765
Profoto D1 lights firing bad
« on: September 08, 2018, 05:17:46 pm »

Big issue with D1's. I have two 1000's set up, and one does not fire.
I've taken both in and both had this issue with both heads.
The issue keeps returning. Repair guy said firmware, then bulb.
Issue never gets solved, ever.

Then I'll tested yesterday the  bad head, and it fires fine when tested by itself with air remote. Test ok fired from Canon Mark 2.
Then it test ok with other head.
Then next day it misfires on a shoot with the other head.

Any ideas? Thanks.
Logged
Canon 5D2/ Profoto D1s

Raul_82

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: Profoto D1 lights firing bad
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2018, 09:22:57 am »

Big issue with D1's. I have two 1000's set up, and one does not fire.
I've taken both in and both had this issue with both heads.
The issue keeps returning. Repair guy said firmware, then bulb.
Issue never gets solved, ever.

Then I'll tested yesterday the  bad head, and it fires fine when tested by itself with air remote. Test ok fired from Canon Mark 2.
Then it test ok with other head.
Then next day it misfires on a shoot with the other head.

Any ideas? Thanks.

Yikes. Never had any issue with my D1s. Are these the Air version? Try triggering by radio and then by IR, see if it fails on both modes. See if the Air remote seats correctly on the hot shoe, check the batteries, clean the hot shoe. Does it fires with the Air remote in your hand when you test it, but not on the camera?
Are you using live view? I have found that having the silent shooting mode enabled in Canon bodies can mess with the light triggering. 
Logged

kevs

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 765
Re: Profoto D1 lights firing bad
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2018, 10:34:22 am »

thanks Raul, it is Air, no of those things are relevant, as  it goes to repair and has real issues.

Repair guy says D1's are lot more delicate that Acutes and if I had gotten Acutes I would not be seeing him so much. The Profoto rep though does not agree.

But endless.
Logged
Canon 5D2/ Profoto D1s

nemophoto

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 891
    • Nemo Niemann Photography
Re: Profoto D1 lights firing bad
« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2018, 12:59:38 pm »

thanks Raul, it is Air, no of those things are relevant, as  it goes to repair and has real issues.

Repair guy says D1's are lot more delicate that Acutes and if I had gotten Acutes I would not be seeing him so much. The Profoto rep though does not agree.

But endless.


What a bullsh*t reply! I've NEVER had any service guy say that to me. Big question: who is servicing your strobes? Is this an independent repair guy? Profoto?


You don't really say which Canon. You say Mark 2, but there have been a lot of Mark 2s. 5D2? I had issues with a rental set (actually two) B2s and the AirTTL transmitter. Junk. Strobes would fire (sometimes), but I got black frames. This was on the 5Ds. My 1Dx had slightly better luck, but not much. I think it may be related to firmware in the transmitter you have, but possibly they aren't supporting the camera anymore? Did it work before and now suddenly doesn't?
Logged

kevs

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 765
Re: Profoto D1 lights firing bad
« Reply #4 on: September 18, 2018, 01:54:50 pm »

Thanks Nemo. I'ts independent, but an authorized Profoto place.

Not many authorized, so I don't have a lot of options.

This has nothing to do with the Canon. The issues happen just firing from the Air Remote.

I bought two kits  a couple of years ago:  2 500s, 2 1000s. The 500s have been ok, but each of the 1000 have had to go in now twice for not firing properly.

Yes, on both, I was told firmware update. But again, it just keeps happening.

As I was leaving the repair shot last time, there was a gentleman there with D1 and said he has same issue. Usually starts with both 1000s up and one does
starts not to fire consistently. It's super annoying. Just see what other D1 users think.
Logged
Canon 5D2/ Profoto D1s

Raul_82

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: Profoto D1 lights firing bad
« Reply #5 on: September 18, 2018, 03:39:38 pm »

Thanks Nemo. I'ts independent, but an authorized Profoto place.

Not many authorized, so I don't have a lot of options.

This has nothing to do with the Canon. The issues happen just firing from the Air Remote.

I bought two kits  a couple of years ago:  2 500s, 2 1000s. The 500s have been ok, but each of the 1000 have had to go in now twice for not firing properly.

Yes, on both, I was told firmware update. But again, it just keeps happening.

As I was leaving the repair shot last time, there was a gentleman there with D1 and said he has same issue. Usually starts with both 1000s up and one does
starts not to fire consistently. It's super annoying. Just see what other D1 users think.

When I bought them, I got four D1 500 and one D1 1000. The dealer was at my studio at the time and he turned the brand new 1000 on and something started frying inside. Smoke everywhere. He exchanged it for a new one of course but I eventually sold it since I didn't needed it at the time.
The 500s are still going strong 7 years now. Maybe the D1 1000s are just not as good? I was never happy with the recycle time on those.

Sorry I can't be of more assistance. Maybe you should try a different repair place, even if it's not a close one. 
Logged

kevs

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 765
Re: Profoto D1 lights firing bad
« Reply #6 on: September 18, 2018, 03:58:33 pm »

Thanks Raul, no other authorized repair in my city and it's a big city, so then put in a box and ship out to NYC, real pita,

Yeah, maybe 1000s are more problematic, will ask that.....

Don't really need 1000s these days.
Logged
Canon 5D2/ Profoto D1s

tcphoto1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 114
    • http://www.tonyclarkphoto.com
Re: Profoto D1 lights firing bad
« Reply #7 on: September 18, 2018, 07:49:25 pm »

The Rep doesn’t agree? I think that I’d tell him what I think is Customer Service. Those D1’s need to be go into Profoto and have them fix the issue. There comes a point when you need to be the squeaky wheel.
Logged

kevs

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 765
Re: Profoto D1 lights firing bad
« Reply #8 on: September 18, 2018, 09:11:26 pm »

Thanks TC, will notate, but huge PITA to box up and ship to NY from West coast.
Anyway today, it was a bad tube, $176, plus.

The 500s have not have a tube replacement but now each 1000 has, very moderate use for just 2 years. He said the D1s unlike the Speedatrons or Lumedynes (I had both for 10 years,  or even Acutes, get much hotter in the tube area. Anyone else? How long do tubes last with moderate use? 1-2 short shoots week?
Logged
Canon 5D2/ Profoto D1s

nemophoto

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 891
    • Nemo Niemann Photography
Re: Profoto D1 lights firing bad
« Reply #9 on: September 18, 2018, 09:45:40 pm »

The only time I've ever replaced a flash tube (in Speedos, Hensels and Einsteins) has been when FedEx has busted them in shipping! I had 10-15 year old Speedos and replaced 1 flash tube the entire time. The problem with the D1 is the closed head design. It creates lots of heat and heat is a killer for ALL electronics.
Logged

kevs

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 765
Re: Profoto D1 lights firing bad
« Reply #10 on: September 18, 2018, 09:52:46 pm »

Interesting Nem, so you concur. This is why I'm at the shop a lot, having to spend $200 every 2 years per head. Nuts. (I have 4 heads)

Why wasn't Profoto smart enough to avoid that?
Logged
Canon 5D2/ Profoto D1s

nemophoto

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 891
    • Nemo Niemann Photography
Re: Profoto D1 lights firing bad
« Reply #11 on: September 18, 2018, 10:44:10 pm »

Years ago, I went the "cheap route" with my strobes. I decided to buy Alien Bees. They were great for the money. Then I bought the Einsteins. They're great! Every time I had to send my Hensel monolights for repair (because of damage courtesy of FedEx. How do they do that with Pelican cases??) it was $250-500. I got tired of that crap and bought the Alien Bees and Einsteins. Never looked back. If I have to have a repair, I'm not sure I've ever spent more than $65 and they're generally fast. Not the panache of owning Profoto… but I don't care. I want them to work. The Elinchrom have been my foray back into the upper tier strobes and they're great. I still have some older Speedotron Force 10 1000ws monolights. They're great.. fast recycle, lots of power. But FedEx has beaten them to shit. The last shoot I did with them (about a year ago), I shipped from my farm in PA to my usual studio in NYC. FedEx basically destroyed both, and it was a fight getting the insurance money from them. So, I stick with the Einsteins and the Elincrhom. I'm convinced they ship better because they are light weight.


Anyway, sorry you have so many issues with Profoto. As another poster said, it would behoove you, as much as it's a pain in the butt, to ship to Profoto in NYC and NOT the authorized guy.
Logged

kevs

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 765
Re: Profoto D1 lights firing bad
« Reply #12 on: September 18, 2018, 11:10:15 pm »

Nem, but I don't think it's the issue of authorized repair guy. I think we have concurred it's because of the hot heads that are the D1 right?

Now I'm baffled here: You get damage by shipping heads, so I've never shipped a head before, and now maybe I should not ship right?
Logged
Canon 5D2/ Profoto D1s

kevs

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 765
Re: Profoto D1 lights firing bad
« Reply #13 on: September 25, 2018, 01:16:46 pm »

Nem, your opinion: What about just using D1 without the frosted thing in front?  Have you owned D1s?  (profoto does not recommend this and claims D1 heads do not run hot)

I think I remember Speedatrons and Lumedyne heads just have bare bulbs exposed.
Logged
Canon 5D2/ Profoto D1s

tcphoto1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 114
    • http://www.tonyclarkphoto.com
Re: Profoto D1 lights firing bad
« Reply #14 on: September 25, 2018, 02:55:35 pm »

I owned a D1 500ws for a short period of time and added a glass globe. I do not care for the flat glass design, especially if you use them in a softbox or beauty dish.
Logged

kevs

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 765
Re: Profoto D1 lights firing bad
« Reply #15 on: September 25, 2018, 02:57:26 pm »

Thanks TC, flat glass, as opposed to? bare exposed bulb?
Logged
Canon 5D2/ Profoto D1s

Kirk_C

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 232
Re: Profoto D1 lights firing bad
« Reply #16 on: September 26, 2018, 12:00:47 am »

I bought a pair of the D1 500 Air when they were introduced and I've never had an issue with them. I do use the flat and globe front glass depending on the modifier I'm working with. I haven't ever worked them so hard that they get that hot but I do keep them because their shortest flash duration is at full power, opposite of most lights, so I am firing them at full power most of the time.

I also have Pro 6, Pro 7, Acutes and the old style Profoto compacts. They're all better lights in most modifiers because of the tube design. Never a problem with any of them except a fan getting old and making noise.

If you pack them well you shouldn't have to worry about shipping them. I think you have a heat issue and / or a fault in the circuitry inside and I would send them to Profoto.




Logged

kevs

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 765
Re: Profoto D1 lights firing bad
« Reply #17 on: September 26, 2018, 02:50:03 pm »

thanks Kirk, how long to D1 tubes last you with very minimal moderate usage?

Is it odd that both heads of a 1000 kit with very moderate usage, light shoots a lowerst setting but tubes fried within a few years?

If I have to pay to have those sent to NJ, that is long time without the heads and very expensive (Profoto never admits any fault and is very stingy about absorbing cost)

Final : also, how odd is it that both heads in kit are so hot? (my authorized repair guy said most/ all D1 just run very very hot (as in that container as opposed to Acutes and other)
Logged
Canon 5D2/ Profoto D1s

aaronleitz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 77
Re: Profoto D1 lights firing bad
« Reply #18 on: September 27, 2018, 05:13:35 pm »

My D1 1000 air flash tube has lasted about 5 years with roughly 1000-2000 full power pops per year. The flash tube just broke a few months ago - but that's because the unit was dropped on to concrete...

That said - I wouldn't be surprised if the 1000ws units fail more than less powerful units. 1000ws is a lot of power and mine puts out a lot of heat and the sound it makes on full power is intimidating. My unit travels quite a bit (about 40 flights per year) and I always worry that when I take it out of the case and fire it up that it's going to explode or something! Recently it has started burning gels that come in to contact with the glass disc (or maybe its the metal hooks that hold the disc??)
Logged

kevs

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 765
Re: Profoto D1 lights firing bad
« Reply #19 on: September 27, 2018, 05:46:53 pm »

thanks Aaron, good to hear. Yeah, both of mine tube needed to be replaced withing a year to two of very little use, and minimum power. So puzzled.
Logged
Canon 5D2/ Profoto D1s
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up