Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Thinking Out Loud Here for H system users  (Read 5017 times)

douglevy

• New England Wedding Photographer Doug Levy
Thinking Out Loud Here for H system users
« on: September 06, 2018, 08:20:37 am »

I know what I'm going to do, but am interested in what others plans are. In the wake of Phase's announcement of no new H backs. I currently own an H1, H5X, 50, 80 and 120 and Credo60.  If you're an H user do you:

1-Sell the whole system now, it's never going to be worth more and then buy into a Phase XF system with something like a Credo 50 preowned, IQ150 etc. (which wouldn't be cheap, even with good prices for my current gear)
2-Sell the whole system and go back to 35mm and my D850
3-Wait a few years, there will be a IQ100 available used that will be the best last back for this system.
4-Wait a few years and keep the Credo, but buy a IQ50mp back for high ISO use when the used prices drop.

I'm a portrait photographer (www.douglaslevy.com) and use the system for most of my lit work (probably 70% of what I do). With a CMOS back that probably jumps to 90%. Curious what others' plans are.

Bo_Dez

Re: Thinking Out Loud Here for H system users
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2018, 08:36:02 am »

I am in the same boat. Goodbye Phase One. I'm likely going to dump the lot of it while it still has some value and move to 100MP Mirrorless. I may look at the Hasselblad H6 or 7 150MP offering.

I was on the verge of staying and now they've made that decision easy.

I suspect they are a sinking ship anyway.

douglevy

« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2018, 08:37:22 am »

That's part of my problem. I won't move to an H back because of Phocus, C1 is too important a part of my workflow.

Bo_Dez

« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2018, 08:47:38 am »

Yeah, I understand that. I am in the same boat.