Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Why the HUGE wait for Canikon mirrorless? (and was it worth it)  (Read 7079 times)

adriantyler

Why the HUGE wait for Canikon mirrorless? (and was it worth it)
« on: September 05, 2018, 03:24:45 pm »

I switched from my D800 to the Sony A7 system a few years ago (we have loads of threads stating the pros and cons.) However, whatever the virtues or vices of said camera, as I see it (I am a layman,) Sony have scored a MAJOR GOAL over the established brands with their mirror-less electronic cameras, question is, why the HUGE wait for Canikon mirror-less? It seems to me (again, I am a layman) that Canikon have had a severe a$$ kicking for this lack of foresight... hmmm... Was it worth the wait? Or are they just gonna pick up the crumbs that fall off  the Sony table?
« Last Edit: September 05, 2018, 03:28:31 pm by adriantyler »

capital

• Website
Re: Why the HUGE wait for Canikon mirrorless? (and was it worth it)
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2018, 03:35:00 pm »

Nikon tried out Nikon 1, first.

Canon tried EOS M, first.

If the end user saw value in a switch to Sony back then, it is a bit moot to ask why not now switch to Nikon or Canon.

Canon, Nikon & Sony will do what they want, not really up to us.

Telecaster

« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2018, 04:01:32 pm »

Big companies are in general incapable of killing off their cash cows. Witness Kodak, which created electronic camera tech in the mid-1970s and then mostly sat on it for fear of cutting into film sales. Nikon and Canon have both made their bones in the SLR market. But that they're both jumping (how far remains to be seen) into mirrorless could be a sign they're capable of being more flexible than the norm. They've both got large user bases too. I wouldn't write either one off.

-Dave-

adriantyler

« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2018, 04:09:14 pm »