Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Finding balance in an image  (Read 3875 times)

jng

Finding balance in an image
« on: March 19, 2016, 10:58:14 pm »

I've been reading some very thoughtful critiques here so I thought I'd seek input on an image I've been noodling with recently. This is my first time posting images for feedback on LuLa, so here goes...

The first file shows the image at full bleed in the horizontal dimension (the original file was only cropped along the vertical axis to remove some foreground blackness). One reason I like this version is that it accentuates the long sweep of the bridge's span toward the tower and the main density of buildings in the city behind it, a sweep that my eye tends to follow from the left. However I wonder whether the "central" elements - i.e., the brightly lit tower, the island that the span connects to and the city behind it - are pushed a bit too far to the right of center, making the final rendering feel a bit unbalanced.

In the second image, I've cropped from the left, squaring off the aspect ratio a bit and placing the bridge tower, city etc. more toward the center of the field. To me this feels more balanced (or rather, less unbalanced) but at the expense of the long sweeping flow from the left. And maybe it's just a little more boring than the first version as a result. If I can make the image work, I'm thinking of making a large-ish print (30-36" on the long dimension).

Thoughts and comments would be appreciated!

John

BobDavid

Re: Finding balance in an image
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2016, 01:04:37 am »

I'd be more inclined to crop off some on the right side. The left side is more interesting. I think the color in the sky is off, especially where the orange fades into the greenish hue. With a bit more tweaking, I think this will be a fine photograph.

jng

« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2016, 01:51:05 am »