Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: ACR update failure  (Read 2837 times)

david@danapoint

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
ACR update failure
« on: May 01, 2015, 02:22:59 pm »

I hope someone can help!

In order to work images from my new Canon 5D Mark 3, I understood the need to update to ACR 6.7 on my home/business Windows machine running CS5.

From CS5 help menu, I followed update instructions and did both 6.6 and 6.7 sequentially. Except that when I run for 6.7, I get the messages as follow:

"Some updates failed to install" and "Please quit and try again later."

I have now done that dozens of times now and always get the same result.

What to do???

david
Logged

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17409
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: ACR update failure
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2015, 03:28:18 pm »

What version of ACR are you running (check About Plug-in's)? You can download the free Adobe DNG converter and that will get you going if for some reason, the latest version of ACR for CS5 doesn’t support that camera. You'll have to check on that.
Logged
Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers"

david@danapoint

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: ACR update failure
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2015, 04:14:25 pm »

Hey thanks for the quick response...

FWIW, I was running 6.5 before the attempt to update to 6.7.

That (6.7) is the minimum to see and work the files from the new camera.

I see I'm currently running ACR 6.5.0.216, prob'ly no change from the operation prior to my aborted update

Still can't get the update to "take"
Logged

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17409
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: ACR update failure
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2015, 04:16:56 pm »

Logged
Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers"

david@danapoint

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: ACR update failure
« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2015, 12:42:40 pm »

Hey digitaldog,

Thanks for the idea... which, after more than a few clicks, took me to PS (which opened automatically) where I got the message that it was the wrong kind of document and could not be opened.

I'm getting grumpy about this issue (but not at you).

david
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up