Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Portrait Lens  (Read 4768 times)

saiine

Portrait Lens
« on: January 11, 2006, 01:46:47 pm »

I'm researching which puppy to buy. the ef 85 1.2 L, or the 50 1.4 / 50 1.8 II.

I have a digital rebel xt so it has a 1.6 multiplier which bumps my 50 to 80 which is right in "ideal" portrait range. the 50 is also substantially less then the 85 1.2, any opinions on this? I'm not a professional, just looking to start out doing some studio lighting practice and feel my 70-200 is a bit too much to be shooting portraits with.

Hank

Portrait Lens
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2006, 02:02:51 pm »

It depends upon your shooting style, but for me the critical difference may be in DOF.  I like to manage (or limit) DOF carefully, and the 85 looks more promising in that regard.  We're shooting Nikon with D2X bodies, and most of the time we use their 35-70mm f/2.8.  It spends most of its life at the 70mm end, but the zoom is handy when accomodating small spaces or groups.  That might be the circumstance for you as well, so don't discount the potential service from a high-end zoom shorter than your 70-200.

GordonMcGregor

Portrait Lens
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2006, 03:29:10 pm »

I have a digital rebel xt so it has a 1.6 multiplier which bumps my 50 to 80 which is right in "ideal" portrait range. the 50 is also substantially less then the 85 1.2, any opinions on this? I'm not a professional, just looking to start out doing some studio lighting practice and feel my 70-200 is a bit too much to be shooting portraits with.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=55755\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

There is also an 85 1.8 available, for about quarter of the price of the 85 1.2L  
The cheaper lens is actually much faster focusing and obviously significantly lighter.  
Quality is supposed to be good for both lenses (though better with the 1.2L)  Depends if
you need to focus speed and lighter lens, or not.

Yakim Peled

Portrait Lens