Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Back-up software - any recommended  (Read 152841 times)

AndrewKulin

• http://www.andrewkulin.com
Back-up software - any recommended
« on: January 08, 2015, 10:34:43 pm »

Can anyone recommend a usable piece of back up software I can use for my photos and other files?  Currently I use WD Smartware and it is quirky, and frankly a pain to use the way I have my backup system setup.  I'll explain what I have and how I go about my backup strategy as I would like the software to be able to handle this without hassle.  I am a Windows user.  And I have absolutely no interest in cloud storage of any kind.  I am not a pro and cannot justify spending big bucks on some fancy set-up.  A couple of 100 dollars for a robust software package that does what I need I can handle

Back-up Media
I currently own 4 WD Mybook Drives which I use for back-up - USB3 connections
2 x 4 TB
2 x 2 TB

Photos
My original files are saved using a Mediasonic ProRaid 4-Bay enclosure, populated with 2 x 4 TB HDDs.  Configured as RAID 1, E-Sata connection to the PC.  Saved as a single drive partition
The 4 TB Mybooks are used for back-up

Other Files
Comprised of work documents, excel spreadsheets, stuff like that. These are saved on SSD drives within the PC on a few different drive partitions (D:, E:, etc.)
The 2 TB Mybooks are used for back-up

My Back-up Strategy