Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Two calibrated screens - completely different colors  (Read 5539 times)

polasekr

Two calibrated screens - completely different colors
« on: January 07, 2015, 10:42:33 pm »

Hi everybody,
I am new to color management. I purchased X-Rite I1 PRO 2 device and calibrated both my external wide gamut monitor DELL U2410 and build-in display on my laptop Fujitsu T902. I run Windows 7 and display is extended to laptop build-in display. Right there I can see huge difference in colors of wallpapers. I thought that it could be because the wallpapers are not color managed, so I tried to use photo in Photoshop program as a reference.  When I move the Photoshop window with the photo the way that it spawns across both screens, there is a obvious color difference - e.g. blue color on one screen turns into purple on the other. 
Is this something expected due to different display technologies? What should I do to correct it? I also appreciate any links to information regarding the color profiling monitors and printers, but for beginners.

Simon Garrett

Re: Two calibrated screens - completely different colors
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2015, 03:55:20 am »

Hi everybody,
I am new to color management. I purchased X-Rite I1 PRO 2 device and calibrated both my external wide gamut monitor DELL U2410 and build-in display on my laptop Fujitsu T902. I run Windows 7 and display is extended to laptop build-in display. Right there I can see huge difference in colors of wallpapers. I thought that it could be because the wallpapers are not color managed,

Correct, the desktop isn't colour-managed.

...so I tried to use photo in Photoshop program as a reference.  When I move the Photoshop window with the photo the way that it spawns across both screens, there is a obvious color difference - e.g. blue color on one screen turns into purple on the other. 
Is this something expected due to different display technologies?