Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: The TOUGH E-Mount from Fotodiox Pro  (Read 15719 times)

caribsurf47

The TOUGH E-Mount from Fotodiox Pro
« on: December 15, 2014, 03:50:39 pm »

See: http://www.fotodioxpro.com/tough-emount-from-fotodiox-pro-replacement-lens-mount-for-sony-nex-emount-camera.html

I have been using the Sony ILCE-7R for 12 months now and recently decided to replace the factory fitted lens mount which is a two part construction, with the critical component that holds the lens in place made of plastic. The problem I experienced was with my Sony FE 70–200mm F4 G OSS Telephoto Zoom (SEL70200G). This is quite a heavy lens and the lens detached itself twice from the camera body when mounting the Camera/Body to a tripod. The fitted mount allows for too much play between the camera and body, something that I had not experienced when mounting the Sonnar T* FE 35mm F2.8 ZA Wide-angle Prime (SEL35F28Z), which is a relatively light lens. Cutting to the chase, I ordered a TOUGH E Mount from Fotodiox and have fitted it. This has resolved the "wobble" issue and provided me with a secure means of mounting the Sony FE 70–200mm F4 G OSS Telephoto Zoom (SEL70200G) and my other Zeiss ZE lenses via a Metabones Canon EF to Sony E-Mount Adapter Mark III.

Having given the Kit supplied by Photodiox a lot of retrospective thought over the last week or so, I have focused my thinking on the matter:

(1) Although there is a Video on the Fotodiox Website there are NO instructions whats so ever supplied with the kit. This is potentially dangerous