Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: "New" problem with C1 Pro 7  (Read 2650 times)

sailronin

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 335
    • David Reams Photography
"New" problem with C1 Pro 7
« on: October 06, 2014, 08:01:38 am »

My C1 lets me open it, start a new session or catalog, download my files and edit as normal. The problem is when I return to the computer and re-open C1 and try to open that session or catalog, the program crashes.
I'm running a Mac Pro with 10.6.8 software.

Has anyone seen anything like this before?

Thank you
Dave
Logged
Thank you for looking, comments and critiques are always welcome.
Dave

http://sailronin.smugmug.com

David Grover / Capture One

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1324
    • Capture One
Re: "New" problem with C1 Pro 7
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2014, 11:20:15 am »

My C1 lets me open it, start a new session or catalog, download my files and edit as normal. The problem is when I return to the computer and re-open C1 and try to open that session or catalog, the program crashes.
I'm running a Mac Pro with 10.6.8 software.

Has anyone seen anything like this before?

Thank you
Dave

Hi Dave,

Have you made a support case?

Also I would strongly advise upgrading from 10.6.8.  You are taking quite the hit in performance not just on Capture One, but other apps too.

David
Logged
David Grover
Business Support and Development Manager

Doug Peterson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4188
    • http://www.doug-peterson.com
Re: "New" problem with C1 Pro 7
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2014, 11:47:23 am »

Agreed - 10.6.8 is very legacy at this point.

If you need to maintain compatibility with some old hardware (e.g. a film scanner) then I'd suggest a dual-boot with 10.6.8 and then something modern like 10.9.

C1v7 never ran exceptionally well on 10.6.8 (either speed or stability). IMO they should have not provided support for 10.6 at all.

sailronin

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 335
    • David Reams Photography
Re: "New" problem with C1 Pro 7
« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2014, 09:20:21 am »

Thank you,
Yes I have a support case on file and will look into upgrading software.  I installed "mountain lion" when it came out and then had to uninstall as there were compatibility problems with a scanner.  Since everything was running well on Snow Leopard, I just never upgraded again.
No longer have that scanner so maybe worth another shot at newer software.
Logged
Thank you for looking, comments and critiques are always welcome.
Dave

http://sailronin.smugmug.com

sailronin

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 335
    • David Reams Photography
Re: "New" problem with C1 Pro 7
« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2014, 08:03:30 pm »

Downloaded and installed OS10.9.5 and now C1 seems to be working great.  Thank you for the advise.

Now Aperture says it can't run on this computer so will have to see if there's an update for that.  Capture is my primary having used it since v4.1 but Aperture is great for use with NIK plugins.
Logged
Thank you for looking, comments and critiques are always welcome.
Dave

http://sailronin.smugmug.com

allegretto

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 660
Re: "New" problem with C1 Pro 7
« Reply #5 on: October 22, 2014, 12:17:39 pm »

I do believe that you cannot run Aperture with 10.9... but I could be wrong
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up