Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: The Slaughter House Chapel.  (Read 4875 times)

Wayland

• Trust me I'm a Viking
    • Waylandscape
The Slaughter House Chapel.
« on: September 01, 2014, 05:32:09 pm »

I've been visiting Cwm Orthin for about thirty years now and I've seen the buildings falling steadily into disrepair as nature takes them back over.

The quarry had a poor safety record which led to it being known as "the Slaughter House" and this small chapel was built for it's workers. I guess it must have seen some tragic times.

I have old negatives I took showing it in much better repair but when the back wall fell in a few years ago, so did most of the roof and these last timbers just point up to the sky like bony fingers now.

The sheep skull and the dead, rotting pine seem to complete the somber mood for me somehow.

Wayland. [/S

Chairman Bill

• flickr page
Re: The Slaughter House Chapel.
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2014, 05:16:44 am »

Nicely done. I do wonder why our heritage bodies seem to care so little for the industrial archaeology of these islands, whilst spending so much on preserving the haunts of the landed gentry. Maybe because this is our history, not theirs.

Wayland

• Trust me I'm a Viking
    • Waylandscape
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2014, 05:47:06 am »

I think that is very true. Cwmorthin is cared for by a local voluntary group but they have very limited resources.

The iconic barracks are suffering very badly now, possibly because of their exposed position.

I don't have much time for the National Trust, especially after they stole one of my pictures, but at least they and their ilk have an income stream that can be channelled back into the properties they manage.
Wayland. [/S

Paulowen

• www.iceland-photography-tours.co.uk
« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2014, 12:05:47 pm »