Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: External LCD monitor for long exposure landscape photography?  (Read 4657 times)

joseramos

External LCD monitor for long exposure landscape photography?
« on: August 31, 2014, 09:00:34 pm »

Hello there.

My name is José Ramos and I'm a landscape photographer. I would love to be able to see my camera's live view feed in a much higher size, with an articulating external LCD monitor. I've been looking for solutions to this and it seems there are mostly 5 and 7inch screens, which are considerably larger than the camera built-in LCD. I often feel like I'm missing a lot of info on image quality while evaluating the images through the LCD, and only when I open them on my desktop computer screen I finally realize flaws I couldn't see on the field.

Unfortunately most of the info about these LCD is made by videographers, They usually mount their monitor on the camera's hot show, which I think will be a total disaster for long exposures in areas with strong wind.

Considering this I was thinking about a tripod arm to mount the LCD, like the one you can see on Luminous Landscape here

Still, I'm having doubts if this is still going to cause some unwanted shake. I was thinking of mounting it on my Manfrotto 190XPROB base, which surrounds the center columns, as it seems to be the most stable area of the tripod.

What do you think about this?

Thank you!

Paulowen

• www.iceland-photography-tours.co.uk
Re: External LCD monitor for long exposure landscape photography?
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2014, 07:55:07 am »

Hello
I've had a similar problem finding info about stills photographers using external monitors so I simply went ahead and bought one!