Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Canon 5D Mklll vs Sony ALT-A99  (Read 9482 times)

Dinarius

Canon 5D Mklll vs Sony ALT-A99
« on: February 05, 2014, 05:14:02 am »

I've already asked a question on another thread about the possible arrival of a Canon 5D MkIV.

Meanwhile, I noted that there is a discussion regarding Sony and Hasselblad, and how the latter is re-badging the former at a much increased price.

Being a very contented user of a Sony RX100 (superb little runabout!), and never having heard of the A99 - to be honest, I've never considered switching from Canon - this prompted me to do some research.

Inputting the two cameras into a Google search, the first hit I got was the following......

http://snapsort.com/compare/Canon-EOS-5D-Mark-III-vs-Sony-SLT-A99

As a working pro, my BS detector went into overdrive when I saw what the winner was and, more importantly, why it was/is the winner.

I should say in advance that everything I do is tripod based, using the self-timer, mirror lockup, at native ISO, with either flash, tungsten or lots of available light. In short, image quality is paramount.

So, looking at the headline reasons in the link above for why the Canon won: would I trade HDR and ludicrously high ISO performance, for greater colour depth and wider dynamic range, higher true resolution and (what they term) 10% better image quality. Absolutely not!

But, I freely admit that I work in a very specific way.

I would be very tempted to try the Sony with an adapter for my Canon lenses.

Decisions, decisions.

D.

Ps. For those who don't use mirror lockup/self-timer combined on their cameras, try it. You will be amazed at the difference it makes to firing by pressing the shutter button, even on a very good tripod.

Jim Pascoe

• http://www.jimpascoe.co.uk
Re: Canon 5D Mklll vs Sony ALT-A99
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2014, 06:46:08 am »