Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5   Go Down

Author Topic: Playing with Speedlights  (Read 13113 times)

RSL

• http://www.russ-lewis.com
Playing with Speedlights
« on: January 23, 2014, 09:41:38 am »

Russ Lewis  www.russ-lewis.com.

David Eckels

• It's just a camera.
    • Website
Re: Playing with Speedlights
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2014, 09:53:31 am »

I'm gonna come down and take lessons! Always frustrated with flash.

dhancock

« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2014, 10:30:49 am »

Nice! I especially like the first one. I'm just getting started with flash, but I'm amazed with the difference it can make. I've recently purchased  a YN-565EX flash, and I'm quite pleased, especially for the price.

cjogo

« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2014, 02:34:02 am »

I  have used a studio/field flash since the 70's -- got it pretty dialed in .  Shoot a lot of golf -- need one mighty flash for that gig  ..   The trick is to make it look = not flashed ... Bounce is your friend ~!

Teaching RATIO is the master of flash ... Play 2 Is flash KEY -- it works = but would rather see it ratio'd ---almost like the flash was not as present...
« Last Edit: January 24, 2014, 02:28:56 pm by cjogo »

RSL

« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2014, 03:03:10 pm »

Yeah, I agree about #2, cjogo. Unfortunately, it just wasn't quite possible. The balance between ambient and flash was the key in that one. I tried putting an SU-800 on the camera and moving the flash off to the left (no space to the right.) Didn't work. Had to use the flash head-on. Not a good idea. Fun playing with the stuff, though.

Steve Weldon

• Bangkok Images
« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2014, 03:09:27 pm »

Number 1 is nice, subtle, targeted.  Very good if you're only looking at the light and not the subject.

Number 1 is everything number 2 isn't.
----------------------------------------------
http://www.BangkokImages.com

cjogo

« Reply #6 on: January 24, 2014, 04:07:17 pm »