The OP didn't specify, but I assume he's using a Mac, as am I. You can do a couple of things:
Before launching Photoshop or doing updates, unmount the backup drive, that is, the "other" drive on which Photoshop is installed. In my Mac Pro I have four drives, some of which have more than one partition. There's a bootable clone of the normal boot drive, which means there's another copy of PS available to the system. If I unmount that clone I don't see the "application moved" message.
You can try adjusting which drives are indexed by Spotlight. I've read of some people having success with this, and it can also solve other problems. Visit the Spotlight control panel, look at the Privacy tab, and add to that list any drives you don't need to search with Spotlight. In this specific case, you'd add the drive or partition on which you've saved your backup or clone.
YMMV, but the first solution works for me, and the second can't hurt.