Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Image quality... What's good enough?  (Read 12823 times)

enthill

Image quality... What's good enough?
« on: October 13, 2013, 01:00:06 pm »

Newbie here. I am looking to buy a camera that is fun and easy to use. Something that takes good pictures and is versatile. I only take pictures of day to day stuff, family, events at he school where I teach (including yearbook), vacation photos etc. I only view the pictures on computer or make small prints for a photo album (but would like to make some bigger prints for house decoration). Cameras that come to mind are the Fuji X20 and the Sony Rx100. My question really isn't however about what specific camera I should chose so much as will these cameras provide "good enough" image quality or do i need at least a micro 4/3s sensor? To be more specific, I understand that noise creeps in at lower iso's on the smaller sensor cameras but is that noise detectable at normal viewing or only when cropped? What size prints, given decent lighting and lower iso values, could I expect to make with those cameras before noise becomes an issue?  Many questions!  Any guidance would be appreciated!

Slobodan Blagojevic

• When everyone thinks the same, nobody thinks
    • My website
Re: Image quality... What's good enough?
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2013, 01:24:38 pm »

I have 24x30 prints made (on canvas) from my p&s Canon G10 (which is from 2008, with a 1/1.7" sensor, vs. the whole 1" sensor of the Sony Rx100 you have in mind). No interpolation, no special software, just careful post-processing in Lightroom. Absolutely good enough. Actually, gorgeous. As a matter of fact, barely distinguishable at that size (and canvas) from, say, an 18 Mpx APS-C  camera I also have. With the modern software we have these days, noise concern is overrated.

enthill

« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2013, 01:39:09 pm »