Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Stapler for Canvas  (Read 11281 times)

Mike Guilbault

• Mike Guilbault Photography
Stapler for Canvas
« on: September 27, 2013, 09:32:59 am »

I'm looking to upgrade my hand stapler to something better. Hammering the staples in after using the hand stapler is getting old real fast. From what I've read so far, the electric ones aren't much better.  I've never used a compressor before so have no idea what to look for - and then there's the gun itself.  I don't want cheap, or overboard, but only want to buy this once, i.e. don't want to have to upgrade later.

Any advice?
Mike Guilbault

Jason DiMichele

• Jason DiMichele - Fine Art Photographer and Printer
Re: Stapler for Canvas
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2013, 09:55:56 am »

Hi Mike,

I'm using a California Air Tools compressor and a Paslode stapler. Works very well.

Cheers,
Jay
Jason DiMichele
Fine Art Photographer an

framah

« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2013, 10:56:18 am »

Check out the Porter Cable Upholstery stapler. Mine is model US58 1/4" min, 5/8" max length staple, air powered. Pretty much any air compressor will work it... and you DO need an air compressor, don't you?

Seriously, once you have a nice little compressor, the world opens up for you to a myriad of possible uses!!

You're a man. dam it!! BUY MORE TOOLS!!! It's your destiny! ;D
"It took a  lifetime of suffering and personal sacrifice to develop my keen aesthetic sense."

John Nollendorfs

« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2013, 11:39:46 am »

I've been using a Harbor Freight 20 gauge stapler with no problems for several years, and probably 50-60 thousand staples.

http://www.harborfreight.com/20-gauge-wide-crown-stapler-68029.html

Probably their little pancake compressor should be adequate for just the stapler but if you want to run other tools. . . .