Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Replacement for Epson R 2400 Printer  (Read 2288 times)

warmtone

Replacement for Epson R 2400 Printer
« on: June 22, 2013, 01:31:35 am »

Hi I have just joined this Forum and would appreciate advice on upgrading my printer

After 5 years of relatively trouble free printing  I have decided its time to look at upgrade options. In Australia Epson has cash back offers at the moment on the Epson 3000 and 4900 and larger but not 3880.

I am not a professional or "high volume printer" - but I want to substantially improve my print quality and take advantage of improvements in technology with the new wider gamut inks.
I had planned to buy an Epson 4900 to provide a robust solution that would provide the quality and flexibility for larger exhibition  prints.

(Yes I know the 3880 is infinitely more reliable and generally loved by owners but it is getting a bit long in the tooth .... with the older ink sets)

Every review of the Epson 4900 has highlighted it's wide colour gamut, superb print quality capabilities, substantial build quality and ability to handle various media sizes with ease.
Apart from its huge size this machine would easily meet my requirements for some time - particularly in colour performance.  But unfortunately reliability of the X900 series and this printer in particular seems to be a major problem. This site is full of horror stories and clearly this model is not for the faint hearted! 

What is hard to figure out is how many of these machines (percentage wise)  are really causing trouble and how many are not.
Australian dealers tell me only the "odd printer" is problematic...... and problems are grossly over represented on the internet.   

I personally don't agree I see plenty of balanced feedback and many epson owners are very satisfied (eg 3000 and 3880 models) and happy to report this fact.