Save that layered TIFF using a different file name.
Now you have the old TIFF and a new TIFF -- you've created something new.
I think I'll feed you one more time before going to bed.
Yes, if I save it under a different name, I've created something new, actually even if I work on a file and just save it as is, I've created something new.
But could you tell me how this solves the issue I've been explaining or better yet, how it has anything to do with it.
So sure, I've saved it twice under different filenames. Now I have two files of the same image and...
If you mean that I can open an image I've worked on in the new CC version in an older PS CS - version:
-troubleshoot my way through the layers that use technology found only in the CC - versions
-remove the layers that are not compatible with CS
-rework the image with "legacy" methods to get it to resemble the image when it was processed with CC
-and then save the "new" file in CS
Well there's a set of some mind boggling workflow options, thanks but no thanks. This is what I mean by lost work (and sanity if I'd have to "convert" all my photos into "legacy" mode) and it totally negates the reason for keeping your processing software up to date and using the newest features made available.