Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Nikon D800 & Sony RX100  (Read 5615 times)

fragilefinger

Nikon D800 & Sony RX100
« on: September 30, 2012, 06:07:55 pm »

I'm hoping to upgrade from a Nikon D300 to a D800 and a photographer friend is trying to convince me that it's dumb to lug around these heavy monsters when a Sony RX100 will do just as well.  I find this tempting but hard to believe. Any opinions? I print on an Epson 7800, often up to 24x36in.  I'm a street photographer.
« Last Edit: September 30, 2012, 06:10:19 pm by fragilefinger »

OnyimBob

• http://
Re: Nikon D800 & Sony RX100
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2012, 07:08:51 pm »

Can't speak about the Nikon or the RX100, but I can about the Pentax K20 and the Nex 7!
I lugged the former (with lenses, a tripod, etc) around Japan for five weeks without complaint because it was the right tool for me at that time - BUT at my age (67) it was heavy. A recent trip to Turkey and Eastern Europe with only the Sony doing mainly street photography was a joy - perfect tool for the job, light as a feather!
I have no knowledge of the RX100 other than what Michael had to say in his review, but the size is probably similar to the Nex.
Cheers, Bob.
Bob Munro.
[url=http://www.waterholesgue

BernardLanguillier

• http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardlanguillier/sets/
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2012, 07:44:48 pm »

I own both. The RX100 is a remarkable compact camera with excellent image quality and a lens with some elements of sweetness, starting with a good bokeh.

The D800 is of course in a different league along all the important metrics. If you don't print big, then you will mostly enjoy:
- the superior auto ISO combined with much better high ISO image quality that turn the D800 in the ultimate point and shoot camera when needed,
- the faster, more accurate and more sensitive AF,
- the much higher DR resulting in very sweet tones even when you don't need to do crazy shadow lifting,