Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 11   Go Down

Author Topic: New to site and DMF... Just in time with H5D ! Help Please.  (Read 83408 times)

NickyTaylorphoto

New to site and DMF... Just in time with H5D ! Help Please.
« on: September 17, 2012, 03:32:00 pm »

As the title suggests I am totally new to both this site and DMF (we all have to start somewhere)

I am after a little bit of advice from the community really before I go leaping in headfirst. I have been looking around the choices within DMF and was just wondering what the general word on the street as it is, was, with regards to first entry level and Price point of the starting ladder.

For a couple of months I have been watching the H4D-31 with a 80mm lens at the price point at $14,000. And now the new H5D on the way was thinking (hoping) there might be another price cut like the recent one (fingers crossed)

Currently I shoot with the 5D mark 2 and although I have a wide range of lenses I tend to stick around the 25mm-30mm length on my lenses for my subject, which is Large-scale landscape. I have been producing pieces as large as 6ft by 4ft and although maybe I don't plan on making larger sized prints I would like to see a little more detail which I hope to get if I upgrade my system.

What are the real alternatives within that price point of $14,000?

And do you think that now the H5D has been announced that it would be a good time to buy into the H4D model?

I have been a member of other sites but now hopefully can make this my new home. I thank you for reading and any help you might have for me.

FredBGG

Re: New to site and DMF... Just in time with H5D ! Help Please.
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2012, 05:07:02 pm »

I would not recommend the H4D-31 as it has a small sensor 33.1 x 44.2mm. Not really a significant enough change and you are not using the full potential of the lenses.

Have you thought of stitching for more detail.