Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Calibration of the NEC PA series ( spectraview II+? colormunki ori 1Display )  (Read 5279 times)

lpr

Hi,
I own a NEC PA241 screen which I have not yet bought calibration tools for. I'm really new to this and it's really confusing to me. Now I understand that in oder to get the hardware calibration I need to be using Spectraview II and not any other software right?  So that's settle .
Then for color meter,  the SpectraSensor Pro is made for my screen BUT I can't use it to calibrate other screens if need be ? Is that right?  So that leaves me with the i1Display Pro  and the colormunki display  ( I was told by NEC not to go near the spyders ) .  It seems that both these color meters are identical in hardware and just the software differs.  Now if I will be using Spectraview II then that's not really an issue is it?  But then I read elsewhere that the color munki does not support any other software than it's own so that means no spectraview II which would mean the only option is the i1Display Pro .

Is all this right?
or can the color munki also work with spectraview II?

any confirmation or info would be very welcome thanks!

howardm

Be specific when talking about ColorMunki's because there are multiple versions of differing technologies and capabilities and prices.

Spectraview supports the ColorMunki Photo (the original spectrometer black thing).  It doesn't support the newer 'Display' which is really just a i1Display Pro.  The issue is that XRite has not released the programming interface details of that unit to 3rd partiies such that NEC cannot support it.  XRite has released the details for the i1Display Pro (the computer sees these as different units) so that is supported.

The most flexible solution you can have is the retail i1Display Pro and then add the Spectraview software on top of that.  That's a resident of the USA.  If you're elsewhere, then it's a different story.