Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Workflow with 5D mk3 and FCPX  (Read 8987 times)

billy

Workflow with 5D mk3 and FCPX
« on: April 18, 2012, 12:50:06 pm »

hello, I am very new to video and I am interested in how people are working with the above. I am using version 10, not the updated version. A few questions:

- are you importing straight from card into FCPX or are you trans-coding it somehow and then importing into FCPX?

-is there a grey drop tool somewhere? So I can click on a grey card in the scene for color correction? Is there a plug in if needed?

-kinda of a follow up to the above question, are there any 3rd party plug ins that offer color grading solutions like C1 Pro for stills? I like color and tonal adjustments as 'sliders' as opposed to what FCPX uses.

Not sure if this helps but I am making a high and low res file of each clip I create. I store these like stills. I do not 'cut' clips together and create movies/stories.

mmurph

• http://
Re: Workflow with 5D mk3 and FCPX
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2012, 01:56:58 pm »

Sorry, can't help with FCP.

If you want to look at Adobe Premiere Pro CS 6.0, I just posted a video on new features in my post in this forum.

You can download a 30 day trial of CS 5.5 Premiere Pro, or the whole Production Premium. 

There is also Adobe Premiere Elements 10.0 along with Photoshop Elements 10.0 available for around $100. I have not used either of those versions. I also don't know if/when they are going to be updated with CS 6.0 features.

Lightroom 4.0 also supports basic video editing functions if you are already familiar with Lightroom. There is a video online that goes through editing in 4.0. Lightroom is also available for a free 30 day download, or available for $100 to $150 ($100 if you buy a camera or lens at B&H, etc.)

Good luck!  Free bump at least!   ;D

Michael

billy

« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2012, 01:19:52 pm »