Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Photographer or Cinematographer  (Read 1662 times)

Edalongthepacific

Photographer or Cinematographer
« on: March 08, 2012, 01:11:45 am »

I have followed some of the discussion concerning the transition from Canon Mark II to Mark III. Am I wrong in concluding that the increased functionality and image resolution does not sustain an argument for the additional cost...of about $1,000 for photographers? Are photographers paying for an increase in the camera's movie making function? I believe a good photograph is worth an hour of video. I am always interested in a more perfect instrument for gathering image detail; however, I do not use the video function and do not want to pay for its research and development. I am a photographer not a cinematographer. Frankly, I wish the major manufacturers would either produce a movie camera or a camera for photographers and not combine both in one device. Your thoughts encouraged.

ErikKaffehr

• Echophoto
Re: Photographer or Cinematographer
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2012, 02:04:17 am »

Hi,

It may be that image quality wise the 5DII is as good as the 5DIII. On the other hand there had been a lot of enhancements on the camera like better weather sealing and better AF. My impression is that the new 5DIII is a more robust camera and more professional camera.

Image sensors are now pretty close to optimal, Canon may have some issues on the sensor side compared to the vendors using Sony sensors and it may some take for Canon to fix that. But until Canon develops new technology we will not see a "quantum leap" in sensor performance.

Like it or not, Canon cameras are much used for video. That does not cost a single penny for Canon to make, but gives additional value to the user. A still camera is obviously not ideal for motion, but nevertheless it is very useful.