Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Astrophotography and MFD  (Read 26985 times)

theguywitha645d

Astrophotography and MFD
« on: December 01, 2011, 09:23:31 pm »

Ray had asked to see a results from the Pentax 645D for astrophotography. I am relatively new to astrophotography and I really enjoy wide-field work. This is a single 3-minute exposure at ISO 1600 and, if I remember correctly, 35mm lens at f/6.7. This was on an AstroTrac mount.
« Last Edit: December 01, 2011, 09:26:19 pm by theguywitha645d »

ondebanks

Re: Astrophotography and MFD
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2011, 07:59:36 am »

Thanks! I had asked you via PM, but it's even better that you shared it publically.

That's a great result for such a relatively small amount of signal integration!

Let's see...3 minutes at f6.7 is equivalent to 2 minutes at f5.6; 1 minute at f4; 30 seconds at f2.8.

I'm doing that exposure conversion because all of our digital backs/cameras can shoot 30 sec at f2.8, and in 30 seconds the sky turns little enough that with a wideangle or normal lens, you hardly need a tracking mount; a fixed tripod will do. Anyone can take such an image. I'd love to see more people share an image?

Ray

theguywitha645d

« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2011, 08:54:19 am »

Ray, sorry. I was not sure I could send an image via PM. But I also thought there might be some other crazy folks doing astro with MDF. I can't believe there are only two of us trying this kind of work.

I have a question which you may know the answer. I occasionally get a sensor split with astro photos, but not always--a green/magenta split. And it is only apparent with a great contrast shift applied with a histogram or a curve. Usually, it is a star field with one side closer to sky glow from a neighboring city. Is the sensor just looking at each half differently and trying to WB balance? I am not sure this is something to worry about. I never see this in normal daylight conditions. Thoughts?

ondebanks