Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Which LF Camera? Linhof / Sinar / Arca Swiss / Toyo / Zone VI?  (Read 9071 times)

Brian Hirschfeld

• Brian Hirschfeld Photography
Which LF Camera? Linhof / Sinar / Arca Swiss / Toyo / Zone VI?
« on: November 18, 2011, 11:51:40 pm »

I'm new to large format. I have had some chances to play with a Zone VI 4x5 camera and enjoyed the experience and want to get some sort of large format camera. I either want a 4x5 or an 8x10.

One question I have is, I liked working with the polaroid back instead of using my mfdb or something to check exposure, so, is it possible to get an 8x10 polaroid (using a reducing back to 4x5), and if this happens will the preview accurately depict what I will be getting in my final image in terms of field of view? thats the 4x5 or 8x10 question.

Second is, I want to work with it in the field, and my style generally involves trying to work fairly quickly one I decide to do something, so simpler is better (also fewer places I can screw up)....so the question becomes, which camera to get? I want to get a nice one, because thats my preference, so I'm looking at Linhof / Sinar / Arca / Toyo / Zone VI, I'm looking on ebay for one, suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
www.brianhirschfeldphotography.com / www.flickr.com/brianhirschfeldphotography
---------------------------------------------------------------
Leica / Nikon / Hasselblad / Mamiya ~ Proud IQ180 owner

Jim Pascoe

• http://www.jimpascoe.co.uk
Re: Which LF Camera? Linhof / Sinar / Arca Swiss / Toyo / Zone VI?
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2011, 06:26:36 am »

I'm new to large format. I have had some chances to play with a Zone VI 4x5 camera and enjoyed the experience and want to get some sort of large format camera. I either want a 4x5 or an 8x10.