Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Architectural Photography – Lenses for DSLR  (Read 13612 times)

Michael Perlmutter

Architectural Photography – Lenses for DSLR
« on: November 14, 2011, 05:54:51 am »

I am a professional architectural photographer investigating the transition from LF to digital photography. I have a long list of questions about this, but will just stay focused on one issue here: lenses. I am looking into DSLR, since MF seems way too out of the ballpark cost-wise.

I have a Canon 5d MkII, and would be interested to hear from other architectural photographers who have already made the digital transition: Which lenses to use? I am starting from scratch here on this, since I only have the first TS-E 24mm, which I know needs to be upgraded. I am used to LF Schneiders and Rodenstocks, and would like to hold that standard, at least as close as possible.

As I see it, after checking around, there are basically 2 viable options: Either get the whole set of Canon TS-E lenses plus a 1.4x extender, or get the Canon TS-E 17mm and 24mm II, plus a Mirex TS lens adaptor with a set of Mamiya N lenses (35mm, 45mm, 55mm, 80mm M, 120mm M, 150mm). Any feedback on this? The issues are sharpness, lens distortion, CA, etc, but also ease of use (important when working quickly under pressure). The extender will degrade sharpness, but enough to think twice about going that route?  Schneider's TS and shift-only lenses seem too problematic, from what I have read, and don't seem to be a good solution for digital architectural photography.

Though cost is always a concern, I need to stay focused on the best options, since the cost differences between going all Canon or Canon plus Mamiya are not so far apart (compared to the cost difference between choosing DSLR or MF).