Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: How do dozens of "focus points" help you get better pictures  (Read 2194 times)

allegretto

How do dozens of "focus points" help you get better pictures
« on: November 09, 2011, 11:19:41 pm »

I'm just a fun-loving amateur photographer. I still focus the on my main object, lock it and then proceed to compose and shoot (when I have the time). When hurried, I still try to ensure focus first.

But the modern DSLR's have dozens of focus points located all over the screen. It seems to me that this could result in focus "confusion" when on the run and perhaps compromise important shots. So, I tend to just set it to focus on a central point and do what I've been doing. When I've tried the multi-points it leads to all manner of boxes lighting up, and then larger boxes... etc.

So, for those of you who take photos for a living; do you use these muti-points? and if you do, when/where/how do you use them to help you?

Sorry for the complex question... but the whole question confuses me. 

RazorTM

• http://www.flickr.com/photos/razortm/
Re: How do dozens of "focus points" help you get better pictures
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2011, 12:14:52 am »

If you're tracking birds in flight and for example have a flight of 4 birds which are staggered diagonally across your viewfinder, with the bottom-right bird being the closest, you can easily choose a focus point to keep that bird in focus and preserve your framing.  Otherwise, you would have to center the bird in the viewfinder and possibly cut the top left bird(s) off.  The other alternative is to zoom out (not always possible since birders usually have a big prime lens) and crop in post.

When shooting portraits at f/1.2, focus and recompose usually doesn't work very well, so having a focus point right on the eye of the subject is a big help.

torger

« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2011, 03:19:41 am »