Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: R2880 vs. R3000  (Read 24076 times)

meyerweb

R2880 vs. R3000
« on: September 18, 2011, 10:08:09 pm »

A few days ago I asked about the R2000 vs. the R3000.  I've decided against the R2000. I never found metamerism on my prior printers to be a major problem for me, so I don't care that much about GLOP. And I do want the flexibility to print good B&W on occasion.

Since then, however, I've realized the 2880 will produce virtually the same output as the 3000 and I can get it for $140 cheaper, after rebates. Is the 3000 really worth the difference? A few pieces of info:

I'm not a high volume printer by any means.  I'm a hobbyist, not a pro, and don't print everything. So I think the smaller ink carts on the 2880 aren't an issue. In fact, they may be an advantage, since I won't have to worry so much about the inks settling out before the tanks empty.

I doubt that I'll be switching between matte and gloss paper much, if at all, so the need to swap ink tanks on the 2880 isn't a major issue, either.

I have read that paper handling on the 2880 is a problem. Is this true?  Is it only a problem with really thick media?

Given my usage patterns, is there a reason to prefer the 3000 to the 2880?

Many thanks.

Schewe

• http:www.schewephoto.com
Re: R2880 vs. R3000
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2011, 10:21:52 pm »

I never found metamerism on my prior printers to be a major problem for me, so I don't care that much about GLOP.

You might want to use the correct term...it's called gloss differential, not metamerism (which is the wrong terms because "metamerism" is what allows inks to replicate colors in ink–I think what you were trying to say was metameric failure–which is the inability for colors to appear the same under different spectral illumination). Gloss differential–the different in the gloss of the ink and paper is what the GLOP is intended to eliminate.