Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: which mfdb for long exposures ? seascape photography  (Read 6230 times)

cooplixphotography

which mfdb for long exposures ? seascape photography
« on: July 14, 2011, 11:07:43 am »

hello to all, this is my first post ! (altough I'm a long time LL reader)

I'm slowly thinking of buying a mfd back for artwork purposes. I'm a pro photographer, focusing mainly on events, sports, corporate and architecture. Besides those activities, I'm also developing some sort of minimalist long exposure seaside artwork. see http://www.antoinerose.com for a few images. Wether you like or find this kind of photography is not really the scope of this post ;).
I request your advice for a choice of digital back that would handle this kind of images.  the main issue being the exposure that is often several minutes.
for the moment i'm using a nikon d3x which is quite impressive. A good nef properly developed can be printed on a durst lambda up to 120cmx 120cm.   As I'd like to print bigger and/or print at the same size while retaining more details or being able to crop, i'm looking to mfd backs in the 40mp range. The only one that seems to fit is the phase one p45+. All other backs are not able to go beyond 1 or 2 minutes of exposure.  The pentax 645 d would be an option but the nominal iso (200) is too high for this kind of photo.
is there any other options ? are the new iq backs, or hasselblad or leaf having hidden long exposure mode or "bulb" mode.  The achromatic frome p.one is too limiting for me. i'd love to have an iq160 with the price of a p45+ and more than a minute of exposure time ;)
thanks for your feedback and experience. if you have some long expoure seascape shot on mfb, would be great to see them.

Nikon d3x - Nikon d7000 - pentax 67ii

Weldon Brewster

• http://www.weldonbrewster.com
Re: which mfdb for long exposures ? seascape photography
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2011, 05:09:26 pm »