Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: New to calibration  (Read 2734 times)

jayne

New to calibration
« on: February 27, 2011, 11:45:27 pm »

I'm very new to printing photos, and am needing a point in the right direction.

How do I calibrate my monitor/computer to match what the printer prints?

I know, I know, a very big, broad question!

I have a Win 7 laptop (that is getting replaced very shortly, hopefully within the next month, but definitely by the end of summer, as it has done it's duty for years, and is time to move on to something that can run more than 4gb RAM), and the printer is the Epson Stylus Pro 11880. I'm intending to get a MacBook Pro when I update my computer. I using Photoshop CS5 to edit photos (still learning that, as well).

Ok, so here's where you can be of assistance. I see the ICC profiles from Epson's website, then there are ICC profiles from Breathing Colors (for their canvas?), and then there are settings within Photoshop itself.

Do I need all of these profiles? Just one or the other?

Is this where "soft proofing" comes in? (Speaking of, can someone point me to resources for that, as well?)

Yes, I've read quite a few of the posts here, but I'm somehow not getting it; I cannot seem to figure out these basic questions. It does not seem like it is rocket science, but because it is so new to me, I'm not able to figure out which I need first, and what to do with it once I have it.

Thank you!

ErikKaffehr

• Echophoto
Re: New to calibration
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2011, 12:09:24 am »

Hi!

First you need match screen white to your viewing environment. A white patch on the screen should have the same brightness as a piece of white paper in your viewing environment. AVOID MONITOR BEEING TO BRIGHT! That will result in the "My pictures are to dark!" syndrome.

Second, you may need to calibrate your monitor.