Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Burzynski Ball Head vs. RRS BH-55, Z1, Q20 for Hand-Challenged. Oh no, Arthritis  (Read 20121 times)

shadesofgray

*UPDATE*

Hi all, After considering your helpful feedback and doing a bit more on-line searching, I've changed my original ball head choice and am comparing the Arca-Swiss Z1 and RRS BH-55. If you want to bypass all of the intermediate posts, you can find my reasons for this change in the post dated Jan 16. at 15:29.

* End of Update *

Hello all,
Let me first say that I am a newbie to this forum so please understand and educate me if I violate any kind of protocol. I have written a novel (at the risk of boring you) below because I know that asking a question and providing too little background can be annoying to those trying to help.

I am interested in the 70mm Burzynski ball head, but probably for different reasons than many of you. I am looking for a ball head that can be locked firmly in place without too much hand force. This is because I have just been diagnosed with osteoarthritis and I am tiny jointed to begin with. (It is the lesser form of arthritis, so I’m relieved about that.) However, I am looking for ways around this disability so that I can continue photographing. Giving up photography is not an option and too sad to contemplate.  :( Arthritis is supposedly not uncommon, so perhaps this thread may someday help others.

I understand that the Burzynski ball head is heavy, but thankfully my girlie arms and hands have decent muscle strength. The issue is primarily with twisting my hands and fingers, which stresses the little joints. Pinching and gripping tightly can cause damage. I also cannot hold my wrists cocked backwards for long which can happen if it takes awhile to precisely position a camera with mid-sized telephoto lens and external flash.

How will I use this gear?
  • I don’t plan to walk far from the car. No hiking.