Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Is it ideal going for Mamiya RB67 flim?  (Read 10044 times)

Zenny

Is it ideal going for Mamiya RB67 flim?
« on: September 25, 2010, 05:10:12 pm »

I am new to the MF except I used eons ago. I appreciate if experienced photographers here enlighten me whether it is ideal to go for RB67 Film or other digital backs? I know that the digital backs are beyond my affordability, yet when I read the posts here there seems to be difficulty processing the films and also scanning it! I am a bit confused.

Or shall I just go large format? (Mayby Grusky's documentary inspired me). If large format like (4"x5" or 8"x10"), how difficult and costly is processing? What about the availability of the films (color negatives/transparency), particularly in Europe?

I appreciate if someone hints me any links that helps me transition to MF/LF from 35mm. Thank you!!!

zenny

***Maybe you are interested in visiting http://www.thehumanape.org****

Kumar

• http://www.bskumarphotography.com
Re: Is it ideal going for Mamiya RB67 flim?
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2010, 06:21:10 pm »

If digital backs aren't affordable, I suggest going on over to LFF
http://www.largeformatphotography.info/forum/ and APUG http://www.apug.org/forums/home.php to see what MF/LF film can do for you.

Best,
Kumar

Mr. Rib

« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2010, 06:35:09 pm »

Depending on the job you're into, it may happen that digital back will be much affordable solution than scanning. But this and related subjects were discussed over and over again, try browsing/searching the forum. Second thing is guys here are really helpful, you can learn a ton, but there are no mind readers- you didn't give any details what do you want to do with the equipment.

feppe

• Oh this shows up in here!
    • Harri Jahkola Photography
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2010, 08:27:46 pm »