Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Tethered: how to do?  (Read 1922 times)

kevs

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 735
Tethered: how to do?
« on: September 11, 2010, 03:12:25 PM »

I have 5D2. How does one shoot tethered?
Is there a wireless way now for it?
that would be ideal. thanks.
Logged
Canon 5D2/ Profoto D1s

Ken Bennett

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1748
    • http://www.kenbennettphoto.com
Re: Tethered: how to do?
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2010, 03:31:03 PM »

You could do it with an Eye-Fi card and an SD to CF adapter:

http://www.eye.fi/products/prox2

http://tinyurl.com/272jtd6


EDIT: I see that the Eye-Fi people don't recommend using their card in a CF adapter. Oh well. The Canon wireless transmitter would work, but it's more expensive.
« Last Edit: September 11, 2010, 03:39:24 PM by k bennett »
Logged
Equipment: a camera and some lenses.

novascotiaskier

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 35
    • scottcampbell.nl
Re: Tethered: how to do?
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2010, 02:15:36 PM »

I use a USB connector to plug into my Mac and run Sofortbild  http://www.sofortbildapp.com/. I shoot Nikon, but you should be abel to do this with a Canon.

-Scott.
Logged
-Scott.

scottcampbell.nl

novascotiaskier

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 35
    • scottcampbell.nl
Re: Tethered: how to do?
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2010, 02:16:27 PM »

My bad.  Just checked their website and they do not support Canon.  I'm sure there are other packages out there that do, though.
Logged
-Scott.

scottcampbell.nl

Clearair

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 152
Re: Tethered: how to do?
« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2010, 06:00:36 PM »

I am just about to try an old Macbook with Snow Leopard and Aperture 3 just installed running in 64 bit.
I have waited for two years to be able to streamline this workflow AND use my preferred software.

I will let you know if it's working.
I need this for a two month set of personal projects leaving in October.
The old laptops battery may need replacing as I need to be able to do this in the open at night.

The Nikons treat mass storage of files by USB differently, do not ask me about this as I don't want to know the details.

Regards
Tethering? another form of bondage?
Why is wireless so expensive with photography $^^*&()__ : ::)
Logged

uaiomex

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1205
    • http://www.eduardocervantes.com
Re: Tethered: how to do?
« Reply #5 on: September 12, 2010, 06:53:40 PM »

RG site says files may corrupt this way.
I am too into a hopeless (seems so far) saearch for wireless Live View without costing a leg.
I'm also looking for the possibility to have Live View with an iPhone/ipod and no computer in between. It could be fed from the camera's AV out to the iPhone. Any chances for that?
Eduardo

You could do it with an Eye-Fi card and an SD to CF adapter:

http://www.eye.fi/products/prox2

http://tinyurl.com/272jtd6


EDIT: I see that the Eye-Fi people don't recommend using their card in a CF adapter. Oh well. The Canon wireless transmitter would work, but it's more expensive.
Logged

izajeenyus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
Re: Tethered: how to do?
« Reply #6 on: September 21, 2010, 10:37:38 AM »

Capture One Pro (http://www.phaseone.com/en/Software.aspx) with shoot tethered (via USB cable) but its more of a pro solution than a cheap one. Great software though. To shoot wireless you would have to get the Canon wireless transmitter which is around $700 I think.

You can also shoot tethered with Canon's software Digital Photo Pro I think its called. It comes with the camera. You can also shoot tethered with Adobe Lightroom 3, but so far that seems a little buggy to me
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up