Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: phantasies about camera  (Read 2551 times)

ljdart

• http://www.bertdalmolen.com
phantasies about camera
« on: February 10, 2010, 06:46:56 pm »

after reading the extensive and heart felt open letter from Micheal Reichman to Leica and then, later, following the discussions, I felt it was about time to give my thoughts on the matter.
So. I was thinking, why aren't there any third-party manufacturers that make cameras and start to play in a niche-market. That market is big enough worldwide. Why not making something like an open-source-camera?
I don't have an attachment to any brand in the sense that I want to defend it or oppose it to other brands as a totem.
I grew into Nikon since 1977. Then I bought an FM, a 3.5 28 and a 2.5 105. Later I added extension-tubes and a 4.5 300mm. And much later I bought a second-hand F4.
As an artist I never managed to get rich and finance some ueber-gear,  I had to be stingy with film.
Until, of course, the digital age broke out. Then some photography beast (an anthropologist might call it a straight-forward possession) woke up in me. First with a simple Sony, later with a versatile lumix fz super-zoom, and now, since some 3 years, with a Nikon d200. And I have to admit it, I started to learn photography. But it came with a price: rsi, repetitive strain injury. Of course it wasn't only the wrong handling of an F4. It is heavy, indeed, we should use two hands to do the job and not one to wave with it like it is a featherlight lumix. It also was the computer-mouse, a stressful job and every other heartache you can imagine a man can have. Nothing human is strange to me.
A serious rsi in my right arm with pain and worry gave way to some thinking about the ergonomics and handling of camera's.