Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Image selection in the commercial world  (Read 2000 times)

Alex MacPherson

• http://alexmacpherson.com
Image selection in the commercial world
« on: August 13, 2009, 11:13:07 pm »

I am an aspiring pro. I am curious about how image selection is done for commercial or
advertising photography. How much input does the photographer have?

Do you cull the images down to a select few before presenting the images to the client?
Or do you just get rid of the obvious glitches (closed eyes,flash misfires,ect) and show all the images?

I find that the images that I like the most are not the ones that other people love. It is kinda weird.... I am like "...really? That one?"

Just curious.
Alex MacPherson

Visit My Website

michaelnotar

« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2009, 12:11:45 am »

hopefully the AD and photographer work together with aims at a certain type of a photo. we shoot a few variants but watch it because it can add alot of time and added cost.

its the same as any other shoot, i edit the technically flawed ones. i shot mainly product so i have 'a shot in mind' ie how it should look and tag it in capture one only when its close or near perfect to those requirements. it can be or the clients requirements.

lately i have been shooting raw+jpg and giving them the jpgs right there or the day after to edit/play with.

photographers input...depends...its alot of like a portrait session...i usually let them decide where they look good after doing technical flaws/bad expressions/blinks edits.

for bigger shoots hopefully you will have a digital tech/assistant to run the computer and you can edit them right there with the client, get their input and tag those to process them.