I just asked this as an aside in another question and am sure it got lost. I'm an LR user since original beta and have had no problems with anything but this. I can't find an answer anywhere else.
When I import, I copy to a different location (external HD) with my usual organization Photo 2009/July 09/72109 Project 2 as example. I check the backup in the import dialog box and its done to a 'temporary' dedicated internal drive. I type in the folder name (I have that drive set up the same---Photos 2009/July) and point to the same folder--July 09 right now The folders are named the same--BUT--Lightroom puts a subfolder into this folder named 'imported on Thursday, July 21, 2009"--this is in the folder named the same as the one on my external. Is there anyway to keep LR from creating the subfolder and just put the files in the named folder??
Diane