Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Flash photography with film MF/LF gear  (Read 3187 times)

feppe

• Oh this shows up in here!
    • Harri Jahkola Photography
Flash photography with film MF/LF gear
« on: June 24, 2009, 07:22:09 pm »

I have a Mamiya C220, and am considering getting a 4x5 film camera as well. I'm very new to flash photography, and have only used it with digital thus far.

The Mamiya I have has a M and X flash setting in the 80mm lens. I understand the X is what I should use. But how do I get a modern flash to fire (I have a Canon 580EX-II) - or can it be done? How do I attach it to the lens/shutter so it fires?

How do flashes work with LF film gear?

Sheldon N

« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2009, 10:35:47 pm »

Quote from: feppe
I have a Mamiya C220, and am considering getting a 4x5 film camera as well. I'm very new to flash photography, and have only used it with digital thus far.

The Mamiya I have has a M and X flash setting in the 80mm lens. I understand the X is what I should use. But how do I get a modern flash to fire (I have a Canon 580EX-II) - or can it be done? How do I attach it to the lens/shutter so it fires?

How do flashes work with LF film gear?

The 580EX II has a PC sync socket on it, just get a sync cable and hook up the flash to the lens. You can do the same with LF lenses in Copal/Compur shutters, they have a PC sync port mounted on the side of the shutter. You can also use the sync port to hook up radio triggers such as the pocket wizards, etc. If you have a flash that doesn't have a sync port there are multiple hotshoe to sync adapters out there for not much $$.
Sheldon Nalos
[url=http://www.flickr.com

MichaelAlanBielat

• http://www.MichaelAlanFineArt.com
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2009, 09:31:53 am »

I have Hasselblad and Nikon equipment. I have those nifty Pocket Wizards and my Nikon SB-800 and SB-900 speedlights which have the PC Sync inputs.