Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Back up workflow now that I've added a Mac to the mix  (Read 5039 times)

dchew

• Dave Chew Photography
Back up workflow now that I've added a Mac to the mix
« on: June 07, 2009, 10:26:46 am »

I used to have a simple backup workflow, but it was limited by, well, me.  My main issue is that these drives can be read by the mac but not written to, so I need to reformat them to ...? I'm brand new to a mac; sounds like NTFS is read only, but FAT won't work with a 4gb limit.  So what to do here?

Second issue is what storage to buy to make this seamless, if possible. There are holes all through my current backup workflow.  The new mac is forcing me to address the issue, so I might as well do it in a way that fixes most of my holes.  Since most of my work is done on the notebooks, I'm ok with not having immediate, constant mirrors of drives.  I'm willing to risk the 1/wk approach.  I've never used a RAID, I guess because of the, "What happens if the whole box fails?" issue. Instead I have multiple drives.  Don't know if that approach is sound...

My current thinking is to get two Lacie ethernet NAS drives, but I know almost nothing about that. Is that a good solution?

Current equipment:
Dell desktop pc: Old, winXP, 1g; so old that it is basically used for documents and email only
Vaio notebook: Relatively new, wnVista32, 4g; until now used as my primary photo computer w/ LR, CS3.
MacBook Pro: Brand new, 8g; this is will be my primary photo computer.  

"The Plan" is for my wife to use the Vaio notebook as her primary work computer (starting a new business). The old Dell will function basically as a server, or conduit for storage and internet.

Current storage:
(2) Lacie 250g portable drives for select photos and recent RAW files (second is backup)
WD mybook 1T network drive for complete digital photo archive
WD 500g USB for backup of above photo archive. This gets disconnected and taken to work for remote storage.