Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: NEC 2690 or Dell 2709?  (Read 4764 times)

djcsmith

NEC 2690 or Dell 2709?
« on: May 09, 2009, 11:39:36 am »

Yes I know the NEC is a better montior, and is my choice if $ is not an issue.
But is the Dell good enough for a lot less?

I am primarily an event photographer, but I occasionally print art reproductions on canvas or fine art paper.  I process RAW images using Lightroom and Photoshop on an 17" Macbook Pro; with a colour managed work-flow of hardware calibrated monitors and custom print profiles.

I'm thinking that a 26 to 27" monitor teamed up with the laptop monitor would suit me well.  (I have recently moved back to Mac from PC's and CRT's, and also have a new iMac 24" that my wife has claimed as her own)

I am interested in hearing from other serious photographer/printers who have worked through this dilemma.
Is the color from a calibrated Dell good enough, or is it bite-the-bullet get-the-best time again?

David
www.thunderboxphoto.com

01af

NEC 2690 or Dell 2709?
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2009, 12:48:00 pm »

I have the Dell 2407WFP-HC on an ATI Radeon HD 2600 Pro graphics card, and I think the monitor is just great. Shadows, highlights, and video gamma are spot-on, no calibration required. The colour gamut almost matches Adobe RGB; it is significantly wider than sRGB ... I think the current Dell xx09WFP series monitors have gamuts that even exceed Adobe RGB.